Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Im new to this forum and i thought i would post my first Q.
In the Tau Empire Codex the stealth rule force our opponent to
spot your unit by a dice roll "as if firing at nigth".
Does this mean that you can use searchlights to negate
the rule for the rest of the shooting phase?
I guess it all boils down to if they use the nightfighting ruleor not?
I would guess not, but not every opponent
Tau Codex, page 27, right column, top: it states you must roll the same distance used for night fighting rules as if you were night fighting, not to roll using the night fighting rules. It clearly states a variable distance to roll, and makes no statement that any other rules would affect this distance. It would be nice to assume that GW thought this out, but they tend to slip at times. Regardless, with the wording as it is, you are not actually using the night fighting rules, you are merely using the night fighting spotting distance, ipso facto a space marine searchlight would have no effect on spotting distance.
My gaming group's new motto: That army you're using is overpowered because it hurts my guys, codex is broken and needs a rewrite.
The answer to your question, however, is "No". The effect of the stealth technology is to make the wearer/bearer hard to see by the distortion of their images. It is, to all intents and purposes a "cloaking" device. As such the amount of light makes no difference to whether the wearer/bearer can be seen or not since it is not light - or the absence of it - that is the determining factor.
Note that the wording of the description says that the effect of the technology forces opponents to have to spot them as if they were fighting at night, with the important part being the words I have highlighted.
Does this answer your ??
~ Ravenscraig ~
Last edited by Ravenscraig; September 17th, 2007 at 09:34. Reason: Sorry - double post
Or if you rolled for spotting do you have to then roll for night fight? which do you roll for first, night fight or spotting?.
If they are separate rules do you have to roll for both? (separate rules is what your reply implies, and I agree with your reply by the way).
So many questions.
Got a "good" rumour from a GW staffer? Forget about it, LO'ers know more than any random GW shop staffer.
Voor alle nederlanders:
The Dutch Legion
One thing I've always wondered is whether indirect fire weapons have to roll to see if they can spot stealthsuits. The Codex doesn't imply this but it would be nonsense if indirect weapons can fire without having to see if they can see the stealthsuits when direct weapons have to. After all, if the direct fire weapons can't see the stealthsuits, just who is it that's telling the indirect fire weapons that the stealthsuits are where they are?
The above situation becomes even more fantastic when the indirect fire weapons don't have LOS. A recent opponent claimed that he could fire a Basilisk (hiding behind a hill) at my Sniper Drones because the Codex doesn't explicitly say that indirect fire weapons have to roll to see. I was amazed at his audacity, but was I right to be shocked or was he right to suggest what he so impudently did???
~ Ravenscraig ~