Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Played this weekend and had a point come up. My Destroyer Lord was killed but used his Psycar...thingy where you make a different WBB roll (1-3 gone, 4 back 1 wound. . .) and came back with all 3 wounds. My opponent then asked if he still got the points from the original kill. I said no, but he didn't agree. I was kicking his back end anyway so it didn't much matter but I wanted to clarify it here. Thanks.
Its just like Necrons that you take WBB rolls for... the opponent doesn't get points for killing them unless they fail their WBB and are removed as casualties from the table. Course... if its the last turn... and the Necrons are down and waiting for a WBB that will not come... does the opponent get points for them?
That's what I thought (well with the exception of that last question.)
(I think that they would be counted as points since they are currently dead.)
He was a bit distraught since it was his first time playing his Eldar that he had paid a good deal of for on thEbay, so he wasn't really in the mood to discuss things civilly. Ah well.
As long as a Necron is eligible to make a WBB roll he is still in the game and therefore not counted towards victory points. That is tough for the enemy, but in return for that there is the Necrons' phase out problem. So: having downed a Necron lord or more than half a unit of warriors doesn't mean anything if they get back up. At least this is how we always played it.
We don't count Necrons that are currently down at the end of the very last turn of the game as eligible for WBB rolls though, as these are only taken at the beginning of the following Necron player's turn, which is not about to come. So these models do count towards victory points. (Again: at least in the games we play... But I am pretty sure this is the way it's meant to be.)
Indeed, you were correct wntrrvn. Its just part of the wbb special rule, when the model gets up, its the same model, not a new one, so your opponent gets no VPs unless, as mentioned, its the last turn of the game, which kinda sucks for the necron player. However, this also means that you can't phase out on your last turn either, so things balance out.
Nevermore Chapter: 6200 pts; 97/49/11; Longest Streak: 9 Wins/4 Losses; Nearing Completion
Your oppoenent doesn't get points for it until it is officially dead.
Mirage Arcana Podcast
The "A Smart Player Will..." theory is a complete paradox. If we make an assumption that everything we do is outsmarted, then theoretically we can never win.