Welcome to Librarium Online!
I'm not sure how I feel about this, points wise, but my last game against Chaos saw a TS kill two terminators in close combat.
Here's why the TS was good to have around:
1. My opponent had a relative lack of high AP weapons, and he wasn't interested in shooting his Lascannon Pred at it.
2. With high toughness, and two wounds, the TS charged, got base to base with only two terminators, and survived long enough to take down both (no armor save allowed). He then died as four more termies piled in.
3. If a single TS can kill two termies, it makes back its points (and then some).
4. The TS is the only thing I own that will keep those terminators honest, other than a warscythe-toting Destroyer Lord.
Their problems, of course, are relative vulnerability to fire and cost. I'm not saying that they're ideal for fighting off terminators, but in this one experience it thinned out a dangerous unit. Two might make a real countercharge threat.
What do you think?
I, for my part, wouldn't suggest doing that. Even if the tomb spyder (with full close combat equipment) gets to charge it will still only kill .74 terminators on average (and note that the staff of light isn't an option against terminators either, as it will only kill .11 of them on average).
So I think the Necron player in the given example was not only lucky to be engaged with only two terminators (I imagine it being at least three usually), but also lucky to actually be killing two of them.
Against squads with many power weapon attacks (remember assault terminators' lightning claws re-roll to wound, so each of them will -even though not charging- strip .64 wounds off the tomb spyder) the tomb spyder has good chances of being destroyed before it may even strike, more so if it is charged by the opposing player's units (I did that in two lucky games with a reclusiarch alone, but in unlucky ones his squad will do the rest of the job even without power weapons).
Against squads of power fist / thunder hammer terminators the tomb spyder may of course strike and kill its .74 terminators, but it will pretty certainly be killed thereafter. Of course it has a slight chance of surviving if it is only engaged with two terminators and manages to kill one of them.
Remember that it gets even worse in 50% of the time, as you won't always get to have the charge. If you think by that you won a round off the terminators, then keep in mind that you also offer a 6" assault move (and the d6" consolidation) they wouldn't have had otherwise, getting them closer to your other units. Off the charge the tomb spyder will only kill .56 terminators and be killed far more likely (against power weapon squads as in contrary to power fist / thunder hammer squads it will pretty certainly die before it can strike, so it will even kill no terminators at all).
Fielding the tomb spyder of course also runs the risk of it getting shot, which can be done fairly easily with any higher-powered weapon, earning easy victory points. Yes, that's one round of shooting wasted from some units, but you also wasted some points you could have invested in Necron units, so that evens each other out while the enemy has scored some victory points and thus remains in advantage.
What I am saying is: it is not too likely the tomb spyder will make back its points. It is also unlikely that the tomb spyder will bind any terminator unit for even a single round (excepting your own assault phase, in which they couldn't have done much else anyhow). Instead you will probably provide the enemy with some critical extra movement (d6" consolidation due to massacre!) and extra victory points, while at the same time spending precious points you could have used to boost your phase out number, for something else.
I do think the one or the other tomb spyder is a good tool to countercharge a unit that is already in close combat with a unit of yours, though. Assisting your troops it can guarantee the charge, take casualties from your them, more easily control with whom it is engaged and deal some great damage. So if you use it like this (behind your troops, countercharge once the enemy is in close combat) it could indeed be a good complement.
A word of warning. The next time you get a strange unexplained reading on your Flagship's scanner and sensor arrays, don't dismiss it as a glitch or ghost. The Necrons are a real threat now, and they are out there, biding their time, waiting for you!
Very true. Somehow I had in mind that with a difference of more than 1 in WS you only hit on a 5+. Rep given for correcting me in a vital point!
The rest of the facts, despite tomb spyders being by far more effective than in my previous considerations, remain though. The tomb spyder will not be very costeffective (costs being those in points and those points invested not being invested in models with the Necron special rule and/or models with lots of gaussy shooting power) unless maybe when used as a countercharge unit behind other troops to aid them in combat once they get engaged.
TS's are actually not a bad counter charge vs. just about everything. If you can get them in an assault with something else so that the termies have to make a choice on what to hit they can really start to shine. hat said, its not like their professional termy killers.
Nevermore Chapter: 6200 pts; 97/49/11; Longest Streak: 9 Wins/4 Losses; Nearing Completion
we are talking termie squad here though not assault termie, monday night saw three tomb spiders get eaten in one turn flat by that
Everything you have been told is a lie!