Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
When a squad of necron warriors loses a combat, then loses the morale check and are swept, the models are removed, not even a res orb or a 'lith can help them. So my question is, what happens to the the necrons who were casualties and already "dead" before the sweeping advance took place? Are they removed as well, or do they get their WBB rolls and hop back up next turn?
We leave the casualties on the table and let them roll their WBB if eligible (another model of the same type within 6" or a tomb spyder in range and another squad of the same type on the table, etc). So every Necron destroyed in combat before his squad is swept is one lucky guy...
That's just how we play. Nothing official.
Now, correct me if I'm wrong, but if this scenario took place, wouldn't it be possible to have several warriors just lying on the playing field as casualties waiting for their WBB eligibility?
1) Warriors are in CC and suffer casualties = they're debris waiting for WBB
2) The rest of the warriors fail morale check and fall back
3) Dice gods are against the necron player and the warriors falling back are swept, thus leaving the downed necrons by themselves on the field
Now, lets say that there are no other warriors or any tomb spiders (or if they are, they just aren't in range) around to give the downed necrons the chance for a WBB. Would they stay as debris on the field or would they be removed at the beginning of next turn, when you would normally take your WBB rolls?
I read through the codex/errata and couldn't find anything discussing this scenario. I could see it going both ways where the casualties are removed, or they stay as debris until another necron squad comes within WBB range.
Personally, I like the idea of a squad of warriors walking through a battlefield littered with debris and as they pass through warriors (who couldn't make their WBB at the time) stand up and join them. Again, I don't know if it's legal and I could see the issue going both ways...for it's legality and against it.
Well.....The codex says exactly "The self repair ability only works if the wounded necron is within 6" of another model of the same type not particulary of the same unit". So, when for example u have a unit of 10 warriors in CC and 6 were fall down as debris and the rest will lose the leadership tests and will be swooped from the emeny, if there is not another unit of warriors within 6" then the the WBB effect cannot take effect and debris warriors will be removed as casualties.
Remember the ONLY way a necron can be removed from the field is by taking a 2xS hit or no save hit in combat, OR by failing a WBB roll.
Its a subtlety of the codex wording, often misread (i had it wrong for 4 years) but if the downed warriors arent eligible for WBB as the rest of the units are too far away, then they remain there until they are or until the end of the game.
never knew that. that makes their WBB even better and helps explin their cost more.
Blood for the Blood god
i<---- this should be a forum Smilie
Whoa! Ok lemme digest that.
Turn 1 IG - The IG player makes his shots and drops a nice pie plate on a squad of 10 warriors dropping them all. The Necron player lays them all down. IG takes the rest of his shots and misses, yay!
Turn 1 Necron - Necron player checks the range around his poor dead warriors and finds there are no warriors within 6 inches. There is a squad that is 9 inches away so he moves that squad closer to the downed warriors.
Turn 2 IG - Misses everything... yay!
Turn 2 Necron - Necro player checks the range around his poor dead warriors and finds there is now a squad of warriors 3 inches away. The downed warriors can now make WBB rolls?
Seriously... is this correct?!
This is my siggie! It is all pretty and stuff!
Spot on. Read the Dex wording very carefully.
There is a (long) thread on here somewhere where we discussed it and realised how wrong we had been. Ill try and find it and link.
Edit: Voila! http://www.librarium-online.com/foru...t=98869&page=1 (We'll Be Back Criteria)
Last edited by Phoenix; October 21st, 2007 at 14:25.
Thats what I thought. I recalled reading the thread about it but I couldn't remember what the final decision was regarding the ruling.
So let me pose this question for all the players: has this situation ever presented itself in a game? I can see it happening in a hypothetical sense, but has it ever actually happened? It hasn't for me, but its always good to keep knowledge like this in your back pocket...ya never know when you'll need it.