Welcome to Librarium Online!
I've been talking with so many of my friends and have been arguing with them about this so much, what exactly are tyranids immune to when it comes to instant death?
I know for a fact that they are immune to ID when it comes to weapons twice the toughness, but I don't think they are immune to the ID caused by weapons like the chaos blissgiver. I'm pretty sure that force weapons also work. Are there any other weapons out there like that? And am I right with the blissgiver?
As clarified by the FAQ, all tyranids within the synapse bubble are immune to instant death. Period. No matter what it comes from, if it inficts instant death, the Tyranids survive. None can stop the Great Devourer! Mwah ha ha ha haaaaa!
Note that things like the vortex grenade from apocalypse do not inflict instant death, you are just gone. But if the power, like that of a force weapon, uses the wording "instant death", then the gribblies are safe! And of course they are protected from stregnth being double, or even more then double their toughness
Example. One wound is inflicted on a warrior. If it is str 8, 9, or 10, he does not instantly die. If it is from a force weapon, he does not instantly die, etc...
Check out the Tyranid FAQ from the GW site - http://uk.games-workshop.com/news/errata/3/ (link to download pdf about halfway down the page).
I'm not familiar with the rules for the blissgiver, but the third Q/A should cover it. Or at least give you somewhere to start arguing from.
This is not true actually. The Tyranid FAQ only clarifies that Tyranids are immune to instant death with the specific example given for Wraithcannons which specifically causes instant death per the Eldar Codex. Force Weapons do not use the instant death rule, and I dont have the new Chaos codex yet, but I'd guess it does not either, but read it yourself if your chaos.
Anyway, Force weapons kill(slay) your opponent outright no matter how many wounds they have, they dont cause instant death. Tyranids are not immune. ^_^
Edit: In case anyone comes along and says 'killed outright no matter how many wounds' is the same as 'Instant Death', it's not.
Last edited by StevenSane; October 23rd, 2007 at 23:56.
Any tyranids that are in synapse range are indeed imune to Instant Death. Notice, it is not killed outright, killed instantly, lose all wounds, but the specific rule Instant Death. This means that tyranids are immune to anything that uses this rule. Force weapons, as of now don't make use of this rule, so they can be used to kill a tyranid outright.
Next time please search. This topic comes up a lot and I think it is also answered in the Frequently Asked Questions about Tyranids sticky at the top of the page.
Originally Posted by The Paint Monkey
That is a clear and accurate answer.
The FAQ specifically removes the clarification "caused by weapons twice toughness," and re-writes the rule as simply immune to Instant Death, capital letters. Therefore, any item which claims it causes Instant Death, even if it is thereafter followed by a caveat like "regardless of the target's toughness," the Tyranid is immune to it.
So Blissgiver? Immune.
Force Weapon? Not immune, b/c it does not cause Instant Death. It "kills outright."
Nids & Guard
GMail = MVBrandt
every weapon that does "Instant Death" doesn't do the "instant Death" part on any critter within synapse (with exception for rippers I think).
Synapse is just that cool 8Y
Tyranids Win / Draw /Lost 
Daemon Hunters Win / Draw / Lost 
All Tyranids (except for rippers) are immune to the effects of Instant Death caused by wounds twice their toughness or more. Nothing else. Read the book people.
My gaming group's new motto: That army you're using is overpowered because it hurts my guys, codex is broken and needs a rewrite.
Synapse provides immunity from the "Instant death!" rule.
Said rule only says anything about double strength weapons, however, things such as the wraithcannon are affected by synapse coverage "and on a roll to wound of a 6 it inflicts instant death on the victim (regardless of Toughness value)".
So it's entirely up to wording, if it says specifically "instant death", then synapse blocks it, elsewise, it still happens.
Last edited by IronFather0; October 28th, 2007 at 13:32.
This august hellfire air show more info hellfiregamingclub.com