probably a dumb question re: Howling Banshees - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Senior Member king88mob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Wellington New Zealand
    Posts
    422
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    122 (x2)

    probably a dumb question re: Howling Banshees

    ok, so as we all know, Banshees have both a Shuriken pistol and a Power weapon. Their base stat line says they have 1 attack, so how many attacks do they get in CC?

    The reason i'm confused is as follows:

    re-reading my big gray book, i saw the two following passages:

    p 40

    "+1 Two Weapons: enaged models with two single-handed weapons (typically a close combat weapon and/or pistol in each hand) have an extra +1 attack for every turn of close combat)"

    and again

    p 46

    "Close Combat Weapons: [...] However, swords and pistols [...] gain the wielder an additional close combat attack)

    So my logic dictates that each banshee gets 2 attacks, 3 on th charge.

    Am I interpreting it right? Is this a really obvious question and should i just go to bed ?

    Thanks in advance.


  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    King of Nowhere! greymonk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Age
    33
    Posts
    634
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    37 (x2)

    1 attack standard +1 for extra ccw = 2 attacks, 3 if charging.

  4. #3
    LO's Shadow Captain Lost Nemesis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Virginia, USA
    Age
    28
    Posts
    12,783
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    ReputationReputationReputationReputation
    830 (x8)

    Quote Originally Posted by greymonk View Post
    1 attack standard +1 for extra ccw = 2 attacks, 3 if charging.
    Quoted for truth.

    You take their base attacks and add any bonus attacks. According to the BGB, you get one bonus attack for having two single handed weapons (in this case, a shuriken pistol and power weapon), so that will give each Banshee two attacks every turn, three on the charge.

  5. #4
    Senior Member king88mob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Wellington New Zealand
    Posts
    422
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    122 (x2)

    thanks to both of you. i'm coming down with a nasty cold, and i think my brain was rather a lot more addled then i was giving it credit for.

  6. #5
    Senior Member Shiz_Vaerth's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Toowoomba, Australia
    Age
    25
    Posts
    356
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    26 (x1)

    A pistol only counts as a close combat if it was either fired only once in the shooting phase or not at all. To my logic that means that if they get charged in the following player's turn then they count as only having one weapon. Is this true?
    Quote Originally Posted by AlbinoAlien View Post
    "I am, Shiz_Vaerth! Guardian of Dyren'thya! Keeper of the gateway to the legendary, BLACK LIBRARY! User of the pipes, and wielder of the eternal blade of Dublin"
    Diplomacy: The art of telling someone to go to hell in such a way that they look forward to the trip.

    Join the
    Children of Isha

  7. #6
    LO's Shadow Captain Lost Nemesis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Virginia, USA
    Age
    28
    Posts
    12,783
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    ReputationReputationReputationReputation
    830 (x8)

    Quote Originally Posted by Shiz_Vaerth View Post
    A pistol only counts as a close combat if it was either fired only once in the shooting phase or not at all. To my logic that means that if they get charged in the following player's turn then they count as only having one weapon. Is this true?
    This is incorrect. A pistol always counts as a close combat weapon, even if fired twice. You can't move/charge if you shoot twice, that is the only restriction. It will always count as an additional CCW, so Banshees will always get two attacks.

    One of the few instances where this will be changed is when an enemy unit has a special rule that negates bonus attacks for having two weapons (such as Dark Eldar Wych Weapons).

  8. #7
    Senior Member Shiz_Vaerth's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Toowoomba, Australia
    Age
    25
    Posts
    356
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    26 (x1)

    Quote Originally Posted by Lost Nemesis View Post
    This is incorrect. A pistol always counts as a close combat weapon, even if fired twice. You can't move/charge if you shoot twice, that is the only restriction. It will always count as an additional CCW, so Banshees will always get two attacks.

    One of the few instances where this will be changed is when an enemy unit has a special rule that negates bonus attacks for having two weapons (such as Dark Eldar Wych Weapons).
    Just re-read the entry for pistol. you're right, good spot
    Quote Originally Posted by AlbinoAlien View Post
    "I am, Shiz_Vaerth! Guardian of Dyren'thya! Keeper of the gateway to the legendary, BLACK LIBRARY! User of the pipes, and wielder of the eternal blade of Dublin"
    Diplomacy: The art of telling someone to go to hell in such a way that they look forward to the trip.

    Join the
    Children of Isha

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts