Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Hey all! I'm still having trouble using the shield drones properly rules-wise. How does it work exactly? I mean, if a unit of suits + shields drones is hit with a ap4 or worse weapon, its all good as I can simply save on a 3+ and remove the drones first (or not? can I put wounds on a suit instead of pulling down a drone? I think that might come in handy sometimes).
However, when it comes to ap3 or better weapons, I'm at a loss. Same toughness, so no trouble there, but then part of the unit can save, part of the unit can't. So how do I proceed? Can I save all the wounds and then simply remove drones, or must I allocate hits so that the drones and crisis' get their share? And if so, are them drones really that useful?
Thanks very much for answering (hope this question didnt pop up too often lately)
Prey they don't take you alive
Don't shield drones get the armor save and toughness of whatever unit they join? So yes, I would say that you could roll on a X+ and remove a drone if failed. I don't know, however, if you are required too. I could look it up, but am busy. I hope your question gets answered.
Turtles For the Turtle God!
Shells For the Shell Throne!
I treat then as just another member of the unit do for ap4 or above you can just make armour saves for the unit in general at 3+ and kill off drones or knock off wounds as you see fit. At ap3 however the drones would get the 4+ invunerble and at that point they become subject to the rules of mixed armour within a unit, which so far as I can remember means that the majority model get wounds allocated to them first.
This is just the way my regular opponent and I play and it may or may not be right but it seems fair. Hope this helps.
Don't you have to remove Drones first in the AP 4 case?
As you need to remove whole models where possible?
Or am I missing something.
I just wish gun drones took the T and Sv so you could give them to suits too..
Arch Overfiend & Grand Despot
I currently play:
Doom Eagle Space Marines
Hive Fleet Omega Tyranids
Goff Ork Boyz(dead)
Tau of O'me
Inquisitorial Xeno Hunters
and my attempted foray into fantasy
'Dark Angel Green' Dark Elves in need of fluff
Everything there really confuses me... So im going to start from scratch (and memory as i have no codex on me)
Drones count as squad members for the purpose of shooting. If the controller dies then so do the drones that are left so take drones first if you need to.
Shield Drones: They have the SAME Save and Toughness as there controller. So it just you get to divide up the hits as normal for a squad. If your hit with something that has a low AP such as a Lascannon then you can elect to use the Invul save in which case the drone MUST take the hit as its making the save, apart from that its your choice (apart from the wound allocation rules) of who gets hit.
Gun/Maker Drones: These ones have a unique Save and Toughness. So in a squad of Suits you get mixed armor saves. There are rules for this in the main book (somewhere) but it basically goes along the lines of you take the most numerous save as your saving throw and remove those models first.
Eg: A squad of 3 XV88's and 6 SHIELD drones are shot at by a squad of Marines with bolters. There are 4 wounds in total to be saved. All saves are taken on the same AS and afterwards 3 fail. The Tau player has the option of what to wound.
Eg 2: A squad of 3 XV88's and 6 SHIELD drones are shot at by a squad of Marines with Plasma Guns. They take 4 wounds. The Tau player has the option of either making the Invul saves on the drones or taking the wounds off the XV88's (This is the main reason for Shield Drones, to save you from low AP shots). The Tau player elects to take 4 saves and makes 3, so is forced to remove 1 drone.
Id post more examples of mixed armor but i have no idea how that works to be honest.
Hope that helps (or makes you more confused )
Thanks, that did help! However... Supposed there were 3 suits and 2 SHIELD drones and they got shot 6 times with plasma, I chose to use the drones' save and only managed to save 2. We're left with 4 wounds. Do I only take the shield drones down? Meaning 2 wounds just kinda... disappear? That would be hella cool, but I doubt it could work that way.
And also, there is the question of removing full models first. Does it apply to the suits+drones configuration?
If you had 3 suits and 4 Shield drones, took 6 hits and saved 2 then you would remove 2 shield drones and then apply the other 2 unsaved hits to one battlesuit in order to remove whole models (but not the suit with drones left)
I'd agree with swamp slug in this example, basically shield drones are only useful when either being attacked by weapons which allow a battlesuit save as you can remove them first always or if they outnumber the battlesuits.
I'd only ever use them with a battlesuit monat so that they can always be used, although to be honest I normally use gun drones instead.
The only time I use shield drones is with broadsides as they're harder to keep out of harms way.