Welcome to Librarium Online!
Some people were afraid that the speed freak orks would disappear with the new codex but I think they made them more playable then ever.
With the price decrease for the boys and for the truck, one squads of truckboys with a nob with a powerclaw for less then 150pts. This will give you six of them for 850ish pts.
Now that they are not auto entangled when their truck is destroyed, having it blowing up is not that bad anymore.
So if you have your truck advancing at full speed on first turn, then the truck blows up, with the boys not getting entangled you get :
24’’inch truck move + 2’’ disembarking + 1’’ bases + 6’’ move + 1d6fleet +6’’charge
That gives you a charge range of between 39’’ and 45’’ depending on how lucky you are on your fleet roll.
If you add ghazghkull here you can be sure to have a 45’’ charge on turn two, removing the variable on the fleet roll.
If the truck is not blown up you gain another 6’’ on top of that. 51’’ charge on turn two.
I don’t think you can beat that.(well ghazghkull’s base is 2’’ so you could gain another inch here)
This pretty much guaranties you a second turn charge with your truck boys,
With an average of a little less then 4 orks that die when the trucks gets blown up that gives you 48 surviving orks, with 6 powerclaws charging on turn 2 if your lucky on the pinning tests.
You don’t want your trucks to get blown up on first turn before moving them you could place two battlewagons in front of them during deployment. That should save them from getting blown up in your deployment zone. (And you get two battlewagons)
English is not my mother language so good luck.
Last edited by gauldarck; November 17th, 2007 at 20:35.
I don't think you need to sacrifice trucks to do that, and infact should be able to get some first turn charges, just by moving 12 inches, taking a 2 inch disembarkment, add a fleet roll (pray for a 5), and then charge 6 inches. That gives you 20 inches plus your fleet roll...anything that infiltrates even an inch up can be toasted, and with a roll of five you can make it into the front line of their deployment zone. If you just zip to cover the first turn, you should be able to get anywhere by turn two with a few trucks that are hidden after turn one.
2nd turn is still viable, but the previous poster was assuming you can use the fleet move on the first turn, which you cannot.
You can fleet first turn unless there is a special rule in the Ork Codex that says otherwise.
Thats also counting you not having to move through difficult terrain with either you trucks or when you are on foot. If you have a board with no terrain and you roll max WOW;? the orks can do windsprints.
Why use science and education when ignorance and superstition will work just as well.
another thing to consider is the special rule = ramshackle. if you get pegged your truck goes another 3d6 before blowing up (scatter die to determine direction). so in addition to the other distance moved... factor in the variable/humorous/orky nature of a vehicle that can potentially travel well past half the board before you start round 2....
Armies thus far....
This is, of course, assuming that the unit of Orks doesn't get wiped out in the opponent's shooting phase. They have a decent Toughness, sure, but their armour save leaves much to be desired, and even basic weaponry will have a good time shooting them. Also assuming that the Orks get first turn. Here's two scenarios:
Turn 1 - Orks go first, blast their Trukks up. Enemy blows up a couple, shoots the Orks who pop out.
Turn 2 - Orks disembark (if applicable) and attempt to charge, keeping in mind that some must have died the previous turn.
And number two:
Turn 1 - Orks try to hide their vehicles, can't hide them all (6 trukks? heh, good luck), some get blown up. Orks then try to blast their vehicles ahead - but since they were hidden, they have to get around the terrain first.
Turn 2 - Enemy continues to shoot and blow up trukks, Orks disembark and try to get their charges.
I don't really think it's quite as dangerous as you might think, with the proper application of firepower. And hey, if you play a CC-oriented army, you want them to rush towards you, no?
This I seemed to have missed, can you please refer the page this exception to the rule is found on?Now that they are not auto entangled when their truck is destroyed, having it blowing up is not that bad anymore.
... only triumph could turn pooing his pants into a good thing..
The problem is that with small unit sizes of Truk boyz, they'll run away quickly.