Deploying Flayed Ones - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

View Poll Results: How do you deploy your Flayed Ones?

Voters
24. You may not vote on this poll
  • Infiltrators

    18 75.00%
  • Deep Strike

    1 4.17%
  • Standard

    1 4.17%
  • Flayed Ones? Use them?

    4 16.67%
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
  1. #1
    for good and for awesome! kore's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Riverside, CA
    Age
    39
    Posts
    1,492
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    134 (x4)

    Deploying Flayed Ones

    All things being equal, how do you deploy your Flayed Ones?

    Karmoon: "well.. any kore = good kore" 12:35pm PST 23 May 2007


  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Slave to the flesh The_Outsider's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Where the sun burns in a crimson light
    Posts
    3,353
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    251 (x8)

    I infiltrate them nearly all the time.

    They can absorb a turns worth of fire (as ideally they'll be out of a lot of LoS) and then a nice little charge to tie something up.

    DSing works but really hampers their ability to actually make CC.

  4. #3
    King of Librarium's Tombs Phoenix's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Lancaster / Warwick, UK
    Age
    28
    Posts
    7,143
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    579 (x8)

    Just to add a comment, i try to always use atleast one small unit, and if possible they always get infiltrated.
    I used to DS them, but have decided against that seeing how risky it can be (scatter, get shot/assaulted before the charge, etc)

  5. #4
    for good and for awesome! kore's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Riverside, CA
    Age
    39
    Posts
    1,492
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    134 (x4)

    I'm glad the C'tan are weighing in.
    Karmoon: "well.. any kore = good kore" 12:35pm PST 23 May 2007


  6. #5
    Senior Member crazedcucco's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    San Diego
    Age
    25
    Posts
    275
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    15 (x1)

    I infiltrate, often just ahead of my main force so they arrive at their destination sooner than they would. Or near objectives, if applicable.
    ____________________________________________________________

  7. #6
    Son of LO psichotykwyrm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Panama City Beach, Florida
    Age
    33
    Posts
    2,638
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    443 (x8)

    Since most of my opponents tend to use MEQs or something pretty decent in CC, my Flayed Ones are best used Infiltrating an objective. This works really well in a Cleanse mission. Set them up holding a table quarter, the enemy focuses on everything else, then forgets the FOs or scrambles the last two turns to get that corner.
    "It takes a vast amount of self control to be this dangerous."
    ---Ogvai Ogvai Helmshrot, Jarl of Tra, VI Legion Astartes

  8. #7
    Member Cp_Morgan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Heraklion - Crete
    Age
    37
    Posts
    149
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    4 (x1)

    There is no reason to deep strike them since they will lose the opportunity to attack the same turn. The best way is to use inflitration and probably assault the very 1st turn.

  9. #8
    The Pacifist Wargamer Quick's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Land of Frost
    Posts
    1,512
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    170 (x5)

    I used to Infiltrate them, now I always Portal them out of the Monolith, which is Deep-Struck.

    That method guarantees their safety until they're in combat.

    If I don't have a Mono, then I Infiltrate them.


    WHFB: Dwarfs || WH40k: Imperial Fists, Necrons || WM/H: Trollbloods || BFG: Necrons

  10. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Age
    39
    Posts
    95
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    2 (x1)

    It is impossible to get a first-turn assault with them, even if they infiltrate, unless you go second and your opponent moves towards them.

    Also, I believe Warriors are the only unit that can be held in reserve and teleport out of the monolith right after it deep-strikes in.

  11. #10
    Member Cp_Morgan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Heraklion - Crete
    Age
    37
    Posts
    149
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    4 (x1)

    Quote Originally Posted by karnij7877 View Post
    It is impossible to get a first-turn assault with them, even if they infiltrate, unless you go second and your opponent moves towards them.
    If you read at page 84 in the rulebook says"Infiltrators may be setup anywhere on the table that is more 12'' from the enemy unit if no deplyed enemy unit can draw a line of site to them". So say that i play 1st i can easily make an assault 1st turn dont I ?

    Quote Originally Posted by karnij7877 View Post
    Also, I believe Warriors are the only unit that can be held in reserve and teleport out of the monolith right after it deep-strikes in.
    I agree with this. Only warriors can be held in reserve.

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts