Welcome to Librarium Online!
In a game last night, my opponent told me that Drazhar was an IC, and as such could be independantly targetted during assault.... is this true? I always thought he was just a pimped up incubi, a squad member and therefore could NOT be specifically targetted in assault.
My opponent contended that because he's listed in the special characters section of the book that makes him an independent character just like my lord.
Thanks (I searched for this but didn't find any difinitive answer)
A Special Character does not equal Independent Character automatically. If there is a rule in the rule book that says all special characters are independant characters then I would still say the DE Codex over-rules the rule book and the codex does not not grant Drahzar the IC status.
Drahzar is a character at best and is equal to an Incubi Master which is still just an upgrade at most - this is done deliberately, he is after all only a body guard.
Drazhar is very special, but by no means independent as he is locked into being part of a retinue for a Dark Lord.
If he was independent he could detach at any time in the movement phase but this is not possible until the rest of the Retinue has been destroyed.
Then the character can move between units (page 51 BGB.)
In a controversy the instant we feel anger we have already ceased striving for the truth, and have begun striving for ourselves.
and to top it off, you can claim that if you get an incubi retinue then your archon or dracon is no longer an IC as stated in the DE codex. This is more of a hangover from the third ed. rules and is a bit dodgy but it is there!
Dear Game Developer,Caps-Lock, its like cruise-control for AWESOMENESS!
Rock is cheese, Paper is just fine
WWP and other Dark Eldar how to