Shadow of the Warp - More defined by a GW rep - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Member RudyPicardo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Age
    41
    Posts
    159
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputation
    96 (x1)

    Shadow of the Warp - More defined by a GW rep

    Tyranid Generals

    I contacted John Spencer, a hobby specialist/customer service rep at GW (US location). I wanted to get some specifics about how Shadow of the Warp is used. Feel free to use this as you see fit. First lets review what the Codex states about Shadow of the Warp:

    Quote Originally Posted by Tyranid Codex
    All Psychic tests made by the enemy during the game are made on 3D6, discounting the lowest roll. Any Perils of the Warp results are nullified and the power will pass or fail as normal

    ===============================
    Rudy's Interpretation of the Tyranid "Shadow of the Warp" power

    You roll 3 dice and take out the lowest roll (you don't add them up). In addition, rolling a 2 or 12 doesn't mean you suffer "Perils of the Warp". The power simply does not go off. So for opposing psykers it sucks because you have to roll an extra die. But failing doesn't screw you because you don't have to worry about suffering "Perils of the Warp"

    Quote Originally Posted by John Spencer from GW
    Correct.

    ===============================
    Does Shadow of the Warp nullify "Perils of the Warp" for Tyranids too?
    It appears that that it nullifies ALL units for Perils of the Warp. So for example if my Hive Tyrant has Shadow of the Warp, and my Zoanthrope rolls a psychic test for the focused STR 10 blast. I roll a 2 (double 1s). Normally I'd take a Perils of the Warp attack. But some believe that according to RAW not even Tyranids suffer from Perils of the Warp.

    Quote Originally Posted by John Spencer from GW
    If you have Shadow of the Warp no one suffers from Perils of the Warp.

    ===============================
    How does the the effects of Psychic Scream effect an enemy psychic unit that wants to use a power if I also have Shadow of the Warp?
    So for example, suppose a Ariman (Tzeentch) wants to try to cast his power that turns some hormagaunt models into a Chaos Spawn. However, he is near 2 Zoanthropes that have Psychic Scream (within 12") and the Hive Tyrant which only has Shadow of the Warp.

    Quote Originally Posted by John Spencer from GW
    He would roll 3d6 drop the lowest(shadow of the warp) and then compare it to his Leadership-2(psychic scream).

    ===============================
    Shadow in The Warp vs. Runes of Warding OR Witnessing
    How the Tyranid Power works with this tough Eldar power that lets Eldar players roll 3D6 and discard the highest dice...

    Quote Originally Posted by John Spencer from GW
    This one is funny, the UK says that they cancel each other out, but that doesn’t follow the rules. We say roll 4d6 and discard the highest die and the lowest die. But either one works.

    ===============================
    How Shadow in the Warp vs. Runes of Warding AND Witnessing?
    To be honest I don't know what the two do, but know one of them allows the player to roll 3D6 and discard the highest dice. I'd like to know if all 3 powers are trying to be used exactly what would happen.

    Quote Originally Posted by John Spencer from GW
    Honestly, this one is crazy. The easiest way is to say that Shadow in the Warp and Runes of Witnessing(I think; the one that makes you roll 3d6 and drop the highest) cancel and just follow the Runes of Warding(roll 3d6 and perils of the warp on anything 12+). But this is so unlikely to happen. One power helps the Eldar and the other hurts the Eldars opponent. So in this cast the Tyranid player would roll 3d6 and add them together for psychic powers. This would only get nuts in games with Tyranids and Eldar allied, or in a 3 player game. In that case, just decide how it works, it’s not covered in the rules.

    ===============================
    So wouldn't Shadow of the Warp also nullify Perils of the Warp if the Eldar player has the Runes of Warding (where the Tyranid player rolls 3d6)??
    My thinking is if Eldrad has Runes of Warding AND Witnessing, but my Hive Tyrant has Shadow of the Warp, a Zoanthrope would have to roll 3D6 for the Psychic Test for its STR 10 blast. However if I rolled over 12 (such as rolling 4, 5 and 4), although I failed, the Shadow of the Warp would save me from taking a Perils of the Warp attack.

    Your response above implied that I'd take Perils of the Warp even if I had Shadow of the Warp

    Quote Originally Posted by John Spencer from GW
    Yes, there would be no Perils of the Warp, the dice rolling part would cancel out. That’s why [the] UK ruling, [is] not the one we use

    ======================================
    Rudy, why would I want to field Shadow In the Warp in the first place? Psychic Scream or Cataylst is much better.

    I think the tactical feasibility of Shadow of the Warp will depend on your army composition, because everyone's list is different. In my 1500 pt competitive list, I have 4 Synapse units
    - Winged Hive Tyrant (with Warp Field because I can't take Extended Carapiece)
    - Shooting Hive Tyrant (with 2 Tyrant Guard with Shadow In the Warp)
    - 2 Zoanthropes (with Synapse and Warp Blast)

    In order for me to field and effective Psychic Choir (2-3 psychic screams), I'd have to either drop a synapse from one of my Zoanthropes or alter my list (which I would consider doing). This doesn't discount the argument for the other Synapse powers; I just want to point out Shadow of the Warp's usefulness w.r.t. my army.

    Shadow of the Warp also covers the entire board and not limited to the range restrictions that Psychic Scream/Cataylst has.

    Cataylst can only be used in the "Tyranid Assault phase", so its not useful if you have units in combat and its your opponent's turn. Shadow of the Warp, on the other hand, is always on as long as the unit that has it is living.

    Another advantage is that Shadow Of the Warp protects you against any of the Perils of the Warp attacks, something that Cataylst doesn't protect. So suppose your Eldar opponent has one of those Rune powers that makes you roll 3d6 instead of 2d6. With Shadow of the Warp, your can roll all 6s (for a total of 1 and still not have to worry about Perils of the Warp. So instead of wondering if you should cast a psychic power such as your high Strength Warp Blast for fear of rolling poorly, you can just fire it off as normal - you either pass or fail.

    Finally I have some game play experience playing against the Chaos Tzeentch, which are known to be among the toughest psychic units in Chaos army. He fielded a Daemon Prince, Ariman, and 1 or 2 guys with Force Weapons. Although it didn't happen every time, on average, my opponent failed 1 psychic test per turn. In addition I rolled two 1s on a my Zoanthrope's Warp blast, in this game. Although I missed, I liked the fact that I didn't have to suffer Perils of the Warp.

    Rudy Wilfred Picardo
    Tyranid Player
    Current Record (W/L/D) 143/112/60
    Recent Battle - 1500 pt draw vs. IG player (mission: Seek And Destroy)

  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Charitably Tables People MVBrandt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Virginia, near Washington, DC, USA
    Age
    35
    Posts
    1,500
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    196 (x5)

    I put Shadow in the Warp in my tourney lists, and in my general list (since I never custom tailor and never change the list really ... I will if it loses). If I ever go up against an opponent with lots of psychic abilities, or something like that, well then I benefit. If not, it's just 10 points *shrug*.


    Thanks for the clarifications, they'll be useful to some people who are in the dark about whether SitW affects the Tyranid player as well. It only makes sense that way, after all ... the Tyranids themselves CREATE the shadow that shuts out all the demons and nasty warp-borne gribblies. No reason it would hurt them but not their enemies (though PLEASE NOTE I AM NOT USING WHAT MAKES SENSE AS A RULES ARGUMENT WITH SOMETHING GW RELATED).
    Nids & Guard
    GMail = MVBrandt

  4. #3
    Member Ladon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    124
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    5 (x1)

    That is a real good post to point to the next time a question to 'shadow of the warp' comes up.
    excellent work.

  5. #4
    Member Weezhard's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    203
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    20 (x1)

    Discussed here also

    The Tyranid Hive thread
    Nothing to see here, please move along.
    Thank you.

  6. #5
    Senior Member Xilconic's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Age
    31
    Posts
    534
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    31 (x2)

    [quote by GW guy]
    • He would roll 3d6 drop the lowest(shadow of the warp) and then compare it to his Leadership-2(psychic scream).
    since when does Psychic Scream do -2 on leadership (missed the quote button )
    Tyranids Win [31]/ Draw [0]/Lost [0]
    Daemon Hunters Win [17]/ Draw [2]/ Lost [1]
    http://www.librarium-online.com/foru...t&uniqueid=232

  7. #6
    Member Willance's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Philly
    Age
    32
    Posts
    663
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    46 (x2)

    because they stack if he's in range of two or more models that have it. 2 Thropes with Psychic scream = -2. The enemy model just needs to be with in range of both.

  8. #7
    Senior Member Xilconic's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Age
    31
    Posts
    534
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    31 (x2)

    Quote Originally Posted by Willance View Post
    because they stack if he's in range of two or more models that have it. 2 Thropes with Psychic scream = -2. The enemy model just needs to be with in range of both.
    I gues I missed the part about the TWO zoanthropes
    Tyranids Win [31]/ Draw [0]/Lost [0]
    Daemon Hunters Win [17]/ Draw [2]/ Lost [1]
    http://www.librarium-online.com/foru...t&uniqueid=232

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts