Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
okay my brother and I are talking right now and I thought of this idea...phoenix lords give their exarch powers to their squad right? it says they can only join aspect warrior squads of the same aspect....since harlequins nor guardians are aspect warriors that means karandras could infiltrate a squad of harlies or guardians, no?
It says you can ONLY JOIN a unit of the said Aspect. Not any other squad. Just that Aspect. Hope that helps.
P.S. Caps>Italisized (sp.?) Anyday.
HOWEVER, the general rule on Exarch powers (p21) says an Exarch power (a PL is an aspect Exarch) can only affect the Aspect warriors of the Exarch's team (+ Autarch, if joined).
Therefore Karandras' ability to Infiltrate cannot be passed to Harlequins, etc. (I had also looked into this possibility...)
Thats incorrect SWAT. It is a commen and often powerful idea to take a phoenix lord in a falcon with some harlequins or warlocks or something.
However MurekZar is right, the phoenix lords don't convey their powers to these non-aspect squads (although I think they do convey it to any Autarchs that join the squad).
Last edited by LordLink; December 20th, 2007 at 14:29. Reason: Fixed 'Command' to Commen' which is what I mean.
Check out my Codex: Farmyard Animals here!
If anyone wants any kind of help writing fluff for any kind of GW army just ask.
Okay guys, what am I missing here? It seems to me that Karandras cannot even infiltrate a unit of striking scorpions, let alone a unit not of his aspect. Since HQs must be deployed separately from other units, and particularly after elites (in the case of harlequins and striking scorpions), one must set up these units before setting up Karandras. After having set one of these units up, you may place Karandras within coherency of the unit during the deployment of HQ choices and claim that he is joining the unit, but you may not opt to refrain from setting up a unit until infiltrators are set up, claiming that you are planning on joining Karandras with the unit after that unit deploys. Therefore, it seems to me that even if you want to infiltrate a unit of Striking Scorpions with Karandras attached, you still must purchase an exarch with Shadowstrike for that unit. I am in Las Vegas at the moment, and do not have my codex with me, so perhaps I missed something. But I always buy an exarch with Shadowstrike when I plan to infiltrate them with Karandras. Am I overlooking something?
yeah deorem you are right, thanks for the replies everyone
Under the description for the Disciples ability, it says that "..Pheonix Lords typically lead their brethren into battle ..". I've always taken that to mean that they function in a nerfed version of retinue kind of way. IE Karandas and a SS squad still count as 1 HQ + 1 Elite, but they can deploy as 1 unit (in infiltrate phase during deployment).
If this is not true, and what you guys say is right, there would never be any point to choosing Karandras to go with your SS squad. His "Shadowstrike" ability essentially becomes useless (he would be completely unsupported) and not worth 25 pts. Considering that he is the 2nd most expensive PL, I don't think that GW intended to block this functionality.