Welcome to Librarium Online!
my friend plays tau, and uses his pathfinders a lot. i was looking through the codex, and i think it said that for the markerlight, only one model per light would hit on a 2+. he used 2 lights for 2 squads of firewarriors, not good for the orkses. Can he do that, or would only 2 firewarriors hit on a 2+?
Only two firewarriors would get the benefit of the Markerlight in that situation. Thus marking a squad for Firewarriors would not be the most useful tactic, even against Orks... Marking them for a Hammerhead with Burst Cannons and a Railgun on the other hand...
I've never really under stood the rules for markerlight, how do they work
This is the way I see it:
If a unit uses markerlight and hits a unit with the shot, then one model in your army who hasn't fired, are in range and have line of sight (or a weapon that doesn't need line of sight) can shoot at the marked target, but instead of using its own BS to determin wether he hits or not, he always hits on 2+ (like having bs 5).
So one model (not unit) may shoot at that target instead, and hits on 2+. Rather simple actually.
You may also fire a seeker missile at the target that is hit ny the markerlight.
Hope that helps
The official FAQ clears it up a bit, and mentions you can only fire one weapon from that model with a 2+ to hit. So using it for firewarriors is useless, but using it for stealth suits is much more efficient (2 markerlight hits let 2 stealthsuits fire 3 shots each for 6 str5 ap5 shots hitting on 2+)!
Just my tactic .
What he said
Markerlights are one-dot, one-shot equipment. Rules say you can only use one weapon on each target, after all.
I generally tend to use them for my rail-guns, or at a pinch to help a deep-striking unit of fusion-blastereers in their tank-busting duties. There's a reason the Damocles Guardsmen called it 'The Mark of the Valkyries' after all
Never thought of using it with Stealth suits - might try it out next game