Welcome to Librarium Online!
So what exactly is a "forced landing?" Does this mean the ship can get up and fly again next turn?
No, it means it sits there immobile like a rhino with it's engine turned off. So therfore field of vision is fixed for anything not turret mounted. You can only make forced landing with vectored engines though, not holo-fields. This effect lasts until the end of the game or until the skimmer is killed.
Join the Children of Isha
Yikes, sorry for the rookie mistake there. I'll read the book for the rules on being immobilized, but to me, it doesn't seem much different from a forced landing at the moment.
the difference is about moving skimmers getting imobalised, it is particularly pertinent for skimmers transporting assault troops like banshee or harlequins, because you can not move the skimming transport up, jump out and charge, and because you dont want your assault troops shot up before they do much more than get out, the standard approach is to move up and stop with your assault troops still inside, then next turn get out, move, fleet and charge.
This means your transport is sitting on your opponents doorstep asking to get shot at, if it gets stunned, shaken or armourment destroyed it isnt a problem, but if it gets imobalised or destroyed the transport is lost and the troops will be entangled, preventing them from assaulting and leading to them getting shot up.
if by some devious means (upgrades) you can convert immobalised to forced landing, you have halved the chances your opponent has of stopping your assault
Everything you have been told is a lie!
And if you go for assault troops in a falcon vecotred engines quarter your odds of blowing up.
And luckily almost everything on Eldar vehicles is turret mounted.
Quick question on that though. Once forced to land do all further shots not get downgraded to glances? I've been playing that way but maybe the protection stays.