Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
This provides the Orc Copters with one special ability which allows them to drop a bomb on any enemy unit they pass over in their movement phase, regardless of whether or not they turbo boost. (The special ability can only be used once per battle)
During the last game we played we had some dissention on this. It is considered an ability, so we are unsure of whether or not it would be considered a "shooting attack". Several questions were raised with this...
1. Does the Copter have to target the same unit with the bomb that he shoots at?
2. Does the Copter have to assault the same unit he drops the bomb at?
We descided to go with the spirit of the Psychic powers, that he has to target the same unit with everything, but I want to hear some thoughts on this. Fire and forget? Tank shock equivilent rule?
In the old Chaos codex, or maybe in Fantasy, a certain type of flying daemon (the stingray-looking ones) could do a flying attack on a unit they flew over in the movement phase. They didn't have to charge that squad.
Swooping Hawks don't have to shoot the unit they use their grenade packs on.
I'd say you don't have to shoot or assault the unit you hit with the bomb.
in the codex it sounds like the big bomb is dropped in the movement phase so it would not count as a shooting attack. also it can drop the bomb on any unit it flies over not just 1 specific target like a shooting attack. hope this helps;Y
My thoughts on the big bomb are that it honestly would function just like the swooping hawk grenade pack. By this the unit could move over a unit, drop the bomb, then shoot another unit and assault elsewhere.
On a side note: Lets say you use your scout move to go over a unit. Could you drop the bomb during a scout move as the dethkoptas appear to be able to move 24 during their scout move currently? I don't have a codex (at work) so I don't know if the bombs go in the movement phase or shooting phase. I'm thinking if its the shooting phase you have to wait, but if its the moving phase your good to go.
40K-Beakies(9-14-4),Guard(4-7-2),Orks(34-12-11). FANTASY-Dwarves(15-6-7),Beasts (14-14-1), Skaven (17-17-10) DoC (6-1-2). CYGNAR (28-15-1)
well the bomb is only str4 ap5 but against nids or guard it could work quite well especially if the are used to distract fire from your main army and all have bombs to drop.
the master of the raven wing also had an attack that it could use during the movment phase which i dont think determined where could attack or assault later.
I would say as long as the bikers flew over the unit it is fair game. The only requirement is that the deffcopta moved over the target. It isn't designated as a shooting attack in the rulebook, it is designated as a "special attack", so it has special rules for targeting.