Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I had some disagreements with other ork players at a tournament over the weekend, over the new codex. I was wondering if anyone could help shed some light.
1. Mad Doc Grotznik's ability 'one scalpel short of a medpack' states that he, and any unit he's attached to, always moves and assaults the nearest enemy. Do they mean the nearest enemy within sight, or the nearest enemy period?
2. When the looted wagon goes 12in in a random direction, from rolling a 1 for the 'don't press that' roll, what happens when they reach impassible terrain? Do they stop, or does something else happen? What about if they run into your own troops? Do your troops give way, does the wagon stop, or does something else happen?
#1 - Not sure on that as ist moving and assaulting and not shooting. If it were shooting, like the Chaos Dreadnaught, it would require LoS, but in this case I am not sure.
#2 - First off, it goes max speed straight ahead, not a random direction. Also, it states it goes "as far as possible". As you can not move through your own units nor impassible terrain (nor off the board) you would stop short of these things.
So in order to make looted wagons reliable, we just need to park a unit of grotz infront of it
If I've replied, i've probably used Italics...
www.goodbyeboltgun.blogspot.com - Some of my stuff.
It's true, you can't tank shock your own troops, but after asking around, it seems unlikely that your vehicle would stop for them. In these cases, the units make way for the vehicle, but don't have to make any leadership checks.
If troops do stop it, then all you need is a single model in front of it to make sure it doesn't go anywhere, and that seems unlikely. I do, however, agree that impassable terrain would stop it.
A followup question for that is if they still count as having moved 12in, even if they weren't able to move that far. Also, is it perfectly forward, or do they move around impassable things? If they move perfectly forward, you could just start the game with it slightly against impassable terrain, and it'll be fine.
All signs point to the Mad doc charging the nearest unit, not just line of sight. I guess he can smell his prospective patients in the air.
Actually, vehicles CANNOT be moved through their own units. Since it is a move, and does not require a tank shock, the vehicle would or should by default stop.
Nids & Guard
GMail = MVBrandt
Yup, vehicle stops.
And grotsnik moves full speed ahead towards closest unit whether or not he can see them. HE KNOWS THEY'RE RIGHT AROUND THE CORNER!
So to prevent any trouble, a good idea would be to put a big mek with SAG right infront of it to stop it from going forward, heck it can even repair the boomgun if it gets broken. Or you can put some lootas, with a mek in them in front of it too for the same effect.
I think my lootas, with a mek, have a new place to stand on the board. It will be a tempting target for ordnance, but as always, that's one less shot going towards my trukks.
I could also place a big mek with a shokk attack gun in front of it, but if that wagon explodes, it could be very expensive.
NOTE: This is an old thread that I have resurrected! Don't respond directly to any of the posts above this one.
Has anyone had any issues with rolling a 1 on Don't Press Dat, but having the wagon move less than 6" and still firing? Had this come up over the weekend and my friend questioned the legality of me still firing. I said a) I moved as far as possible, which was 1" and thus could still fire and b) "I'm playing Orks, if they believe they can fire, then they can fire"...
That said, I just want to confirm that this is legal. We are starting up a campaign soon and I don't want to use this ruling, then realize 1/2 way through the campaign that I was wrong.