Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
ok i look in the special rules for a hormagaunt and it says it has beasts and leaping, i look up leaping in the dex and it says creatures with leaping do not become beasts!! so what
does that mean. could some help clear this up.
also it says in the rulebook that beasts get fleet is this true?
It means that hormagaunts are both beasts and have leaping rules. They follow both rule sets. That comment is there because some tyranids can take the leaping legs biomorph - but by doing so they only gain the extra attack length, they do not follow the beasts rule.
If it is written in core rule book then - yes - it is true
It is rather simple when you think about it.
An orange is a fruit. An apple is a fruit. A fruit is not an orange as it could also be an apple.
Beasts get Leaping. leaping gets Leaping. Does not mean leaping gets Beasts.
Dear Game Developer,Caps-Lock, its like cruise-control for AWESOMENESS!
Rock is cheese, Paper is just fine
WWP and other Dark Eldar how to
The only reason that the part about creatures with leaping not becoming beasts is there is because in the rule book, there is an example that says warriors with leaping become beasts and in the 4th edition codex they decided to change this.
Hormagaunts are still beasts because they have that ability, but it isn't because of leaping, so they get to keep it, if that makes any sense. Beast movement is described in the rule book, but yes, they get fleet.
Originally Posted by The Paint Monkey
All three of the above posts hit different pieces of it, with warrior bringing up the main point. In short, GW decided to change how leaping and beasts worked as far nids go (just check the 40k section on what models/units are classed as what, and compare that vs the nid codex that was written after it). And as mentioned, the rules that are stated are the only ones that we follow=) And yes, you can now take models/units that have leaping that aren't classed as beasts, and beasts that don't have leaping.
16,000+ of Eldar (only need flyers)
7,000+ of Nids (want heirophant)
6,000+ of Space Marines (need rever titan)
4,400+ of Cygnar (all models for the faction)
1,500+ of Legion (just started)
Hive Commander shadowvilan127:
This is a great question and one that I remember asking. Here's where the phrase "although they do NOT become beasts" come into play
Sometimes you have a mission where you play with Escalation rules, this relates to the Reserves rules. The book mentions that only infantry units are deployed, while the rest are held in reserve. So any special units such as jetbikes and monstorous creatures cannot be deployed. In addition, when a unit is classified as "beasts", they also cannot be deployed and are held in reserve; your Raveners must start off in reserve in escalation missions.
However, units with leaping get a 12" assault and say they're not classified as beasts, this means that you can field units such as hormagaunts and Tyranid Warriors in the first turn. Both hormagaunts and Tyranid Warriors are classified as infantry, but with the leaping biomorph they still can deploy as normal.
There's a page in the rulebook which lists all the unit designations (infantry, jet bike, monstorus creature, vehicle, etc.). If you own the small rulebook, its one of the last pages.
Hopefully this helps.
Rudy Wilfred Picardo
Current Record (W/L/D) 143/112/60
Recent Battle - 1500 pt draw vs. IG player (mission: Seek And Destroy)