Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
It looks liek wraiths have 3 saves, is this true? the 3+ armour 3+ invuln and 4+ WBB??? is this true???
they have 2 saves, 3+armor and the 3+ inv, the wbb roll isn't really a save to say. but yes they have 3 possible rolls, provided that it's not a close combat weapon the ignores saves or a weapon that's double your T...then the WBB is cancelled and that there is a unit of the same type within 6" of it.....
Last edited by World eater; February 5th, 2008 at 02:00.
Rule 37: There is no 'overkill'. There is only 'open fire' and 'I need to reload'.
I don't believe so, but it would be an interesting thing to ask GW about. If wraiths got a 3+ armor save that would mean C'tan would have a 4+ armor save AND their 4+ Invi save as well....
I've never played that they do, and under general play would say that they do not but most other models that get just an invulnerable save don't post this on their statline which makes me give this a second thought.
Even IF they had both you'd only use one or the other, a unit does not get an invulnerable save AFTER it's armor save, you only roll one, or the other. (easy since it'd be the same number).
Definitely contact GW and get the proper verdict that would be good to know
Edit: ok checked my Dex, they DO get a 3+ armor and 3+ inv save, just never occured to me before, which means C'tan also have a 4+ Armor and 4+ Inv save (I vote for a 2+ armor save on those XP)
Are you sure about that? I asked that question over in the DH forum in regards to psycannons, and the consensus was that they were vulnerable to psycannons! Could you direct me to where you found this?
If a unit has an armor save, it is put in the unit's profile under "save" if a model has no armor save it will just have a dash in this location.
For example an Eldar Farseer does not have an armor save so there is a dash in it's "save" location on the unit profile. However the farseers DO have a 4+ invulnerable save which is described later in their special rules.
Wraiths have "3+" under their Armor Save on their profile and then their rules state they have a 3+ invulnerable save. C'tan are the same way, it's just that the inv save is the same as the armor save (for some unknown reason) so people ASSUME that's the invulnerable save, it's not. That's how it's written in my codex, checked before I edited my last post.
I yield. Good points.
Youre forgetting that the Cron dex is older thn the Eldar one. Im pretty sure that neither Wraiths or Ctan have a Armour Save, just Ivulerables.
Somewhere it mentions that even if Wraiths get hit by a weapon which disallows armour saves, if they fail their Inv then they dont get WBB, even though they dont have an armour save to start with.
I think its along thiose lines anyway, iirc.
I return to a neutral, unyielded position!
I checked in the 4th AND 3rd Edition Eldar codecies as well Deceiver. Farseers don't have an armor save in either of them.
In the Necron FAQ it states that a wraith wounded by a power-weapon or a weapon of double toughness doesn't get a WBB, that's not what I'm saying. I'm just saying they have an armor save as well as an invulnerable save. This doesn't effect WBB at all, just their ability to get a save against attacks that would ignore their armor save (low AP weapons/monstrous creature attacks), or attacks that would ignore their invulnerable save (psycannons), but no attacks that would ignore both (C'tan, phase swords, warscythes etc...)
Im pretty sure Wraiths dont get any save when hit by something which ignores just Inv saves, e.g a Psycannon.