Welcome to Librarium Online!
I was close to phase out in my last game and had some questions about how PO works in conjunction with reserves.
My phase out number was 14 in a 2500 point game. I had a Monolith and 12 Warriors in reserve. I assumed that the 12 Warriors did not count as being part of the game until they arrived, which they didn't do until turn 4, but also assumed that the total phase out number was still based on the total number of models in the army. Are both of these assumptions correct? Let's assume for the sake of argument that my entire army consisted of a Monolith and 3x10 warriors. With the Monolith and one unit of Warriors in reserve the phase out number would be seven, but if my enemy got the 20 Warriors on the board down to seven, I'd phase out, even with ten Warriors still in reserve. Correct?
PO is always based upon your total for the army list and requires that a whole 75% of "Necrons" be destroyed. Warriors in Reserve (special or otherwise) are not destroyed. The caveat to this, of course, is that if you are using the Special Reserves for Warriors and all Monoliths are destroyed then, per the FAQ, those Warriors are destroyed and count towards the 75%.
Karmoon: "well.. any kore = good kore" 12:35pm PST 23 May 2007
Just an initial reaction, but couldn't you then have it so your forces could not be phased out? If they need to kill 1 or 2 more models but they aren't on the board yet you could essentially keep them off the board as long as you wish to prevent phasing out.
Ah yeah, that makes sense, for some reason I always just figured the warriors would come out without having to roll 'cause yer already rolling for the monolith.
Well we're at it the Monolith can summon units the turn it deepstrikes even though that takes up it's movement phase correct?
I believe that is correct, because your are using the power matrix to bring the necrons into play, as long as rolled successfully to bring the warriors in you should be able to bring them both in.