The Monolith's Recycle Ability? - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Senior Member Proiteus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Age
    30
    Posts
    1,082
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    454 (x7)

    The Monolith's Recycle Ability?

    I’ve always been confused by the Monolith’s special rule that allows Necrons to re-roll their failed WBB roll when using it’s teleporter…

    I know it’s a bit of a noobish request, but can someone please sum up for me the Necron Monolith’s ‘Recycle’ ability?

    .


  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    King of Librarium's Tombs Phoenix's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Lancaster / Warwick, UK
    Age
    28
    Posts
    7,143
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    579 (x8)

    If Necrons may normally get a WBB roll, then if failed the unit may be teleported through the Lith, emerging from its portal and the failed WBB rolls rerolled.

    Hmm... kinda hard to word fully and well, what exactly is it you dont get? Its pretty self explanatory from the Cron Dex...

  4. #3
    Member Weaf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Maine
    Age
    46
    Posts
    190
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    7 (x1)

    The rule only gets tricky when an Orb is involved. Let's say you lose four warriors to power weapons, but an Orb is nearby. Two of the warriors make their rolls and stand up. Then you cycle the unit through the Monolith. Because they began the turn eligible, the two that are left dead get another roll even if the Portal takes them out of range of the Orb.

    Otherwise, it's pretty simple. Any models that have failed their WBB may reroll if they are cycled through the portal. The portal, does not, however, allow WBB if the unit did not BEGIN the turn eligible to make one. No stashing a Lord and Orb near the Lith to make a WBB factory. Obviously, you also can't claim a WBB roll for models that don't have WBB, like Scarabs.

  5. #4
    Senior Member crazedcucco's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    San Diego
    Age
    25
    Posts
    275
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    15 (x1)

    I'm going to shorten that even more:

    A unit teleported through the Monolith may re-roll failed WBB rolls.
    ____________________________________________________________

  6. #5
    Cthulhu's Lovechild CBrate's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Sydney, Oz
    Age
    37
    Posts
    1,746
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputation
    55 (x4)

    Quote Originally Posted by crazedcucco View Post
    I'm going to shorten that even more:

    A unit teleported through the Monolith may re-roll failed WBB rolls.
    Of course this doesn't work if you didn't get a WBB roll in the first place.
    And over there we have the labyrinth guards.
    One always lies, one always tells the truth, and one stabs people who ask tricky questions.
    http://xkcd.com/246

  7. #6
    LO Zealot gauss_storm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    1,552
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    103 (x5)

    The WWB special rule is definately a odd one, everytime you go into the codex to read the rule you discover some new bit of information thata changes everything Remember that WWB is measured per MODEL not just unit.

  8. #7
    Senior Member crazedcucco's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    San Diego
    Age
    25
    Posts
    275
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    15 (x1)

    Quote Originally Posted by CBrate View Post
    Of course this doesn't work if you didn't get a WBB roll in the first place.
    Well, no, there isn't a failed roll.
    ____________________________________________________________

  9. #8
    Too Sexy For My Whirlwind Sabe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Edmonton,AB
    Age
    30
    Posts
    1,148
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputation
    68 (x3)

    Crazedcucco: Indeed, and that may seem obvious to most. But when posting on a forum its usually a good idea to be as clear as possible for someone who isn't paying as much attention while reading.
    Peace
    Nevermore Chapter: 6200 pts; 97/49/11; Longest Streak: 9 Wins/4 Losses; Nearing Completion

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts