Welcome to Librarium Online!
well i have a question regarding how leaping technically works for a CC warrior. I was playing a game with a couple of friends and they kept slapping that the warriors have to be base to base with whatever they were charging. Here's the set up of the fight:
10 gaunts surrounded and piled in to his model, and around half base to base with it. I charged in the following turn after with my warriors. and there was plenty of space to be within 3" of the gaunt(s) that were base to base with it.
Would leaping still count into a effect with a model outside of their unit? I thought it was and i'm making sure. As long as my gaunt is base to base, i can charge in to the same model/unit with my warriors and leave them 3" from the gaunt, they get their full attacks and can't be targeted to take wounds, since they are 3" away, correct?
My original understanding of the 'Leaping' biomorph was the same as yours, since it states that it may make its full attacks so long as it is within 3" of a "friendly model as normal" that is in base contact with the enemy. The understanding being that any model in your army is a "friendly model".
However, having checked back in the main rule book under "Who Can Fight?" (P. 39) it specifies that "friendly models" for purposes of being engaged are only models that are in the same unit as the models that are in BtB. Since the 'Leaping' text says that besides the increased distance (3" as opposed to 2") it uses the engagement rules "as normal", so you have to have at least one model in BtB with a enemy unit for other members with Leaping to be Engaged.
Last edited by Vesper; April 3rd, 2008 at 19:45.
thank you for clarifying =)
sad day though!
Hive Commander the Frexican
I don't know if this will help exactly, but I sent a similar question to my friend John Spencer from GW (United States). John is a customer service specialist and used to man the phones when you called direct services. You can use this sample diagram of Tyranids vs. Orks to help visualize my question and his response.
Lets assume this is the start of the Tyranid phase. The Tyranid Warriors have the leaping biomorph. Assume the Warriors are about 13" away from this combat, prior to their movement. For ease of rules, there is no terrain on this diagram.
Right now it appears that with leaping the Warriors cannot go into a "straight line" into combat. I argue that the rule states the 1st model must go "shortest distance" and not "straight line". As such the warriors would be able to wrap around combat to get into base-to-base contact with the orks on the east side (Orks 20, 19, and 11)
John, can you confirm or contradict this?
My arguement is based on hearing a technique that you should send 20+ gaunts to hold up a unit and block a fire lane preventing anyone from shooting at the Warriors. The Warriors can then wrap around a combat because they cannot leap OVER models locked in combat to engage.Originally Posted by John Spencer from GW
From this diagram, he didn't imply that the warriors could just attach themselves to a hormagaunt unit to count as within 3". So I believe that at least one warrior had to be within base-to-base contact for them to be able to charge and participate.
I hope this helps. And its not a bad trade off. The leaping biomorph is nice because it allows units within 3" to participate instead of 2", which is something few armies can do. The 12" leap allows you to wrap around a unit in combat. So in one turn you can use your gaunts/hormgaunts to charge a unit. In their turn, this combat can also prevent similar-sized units from shooting at your warriors (Warriors and gaunts are classfied as size 2). When your turn comes again, you can use leaping to wrap around and get to attack. I think its a fair interpretation of the rules.
Last edited by RudyPicardo; April 3rd, 2008 at 20:03.
Rudy Wilfred Picardo
Current Record (W/L/D) 143/112/60
Recent Battle - 1500 pt draw vs. IG player (mission: Seek And Destroy)
Leaping for warriors is more about the extra assault move than for the 3" engagement ring, as, typically, warrior broods will be no larger than three.
As for your answer, in order for ANY squad to contribute to CC, one member of that squad has to be within base to base contact with an enemy.
"Tell me what you cherish most. Give me the pleasure of taking it away." Sephiroth, Final Fantasy VII: Advent Children
okay but does the IC rule, of the units having to be base to base overwrite the leaping rule?