Clearify please - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Clearify please

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    36
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    1 (x1)

    Clearify please

    Rending vs Armour

    nid hits tank, one of the rolls is a 6, you take that 6 and roll it again and add the value to the 6 you have plus the nids str?

    so 6+roll+str?

    Thanks!


  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Senior Member Enjoi_Tyranids's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Indiana
    Age
    28
    Posts
    394
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    23 (x1)

    After you hit the tank

    auto-hit attacking a tank that didn't move, +4 on hiting a tank that moved less than 6" and 6 on a tank that moved over 6inches.

    Then if you roll a 6 for your armor penatration roll you get to roll an additional D6.

    6+D6+Str.

    So, yeah your right pretty sure thats what you were saying.

  4. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    In the back of your mind
    Age
    28
    Posts
    68
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    5 (x0)

    Just remember, its a 6 on the AP roll, not the to hit roll.

    to hit is on models with wounds/toughness.

    sucks to get excited when you roll 6's to hit a vehicle thats moved only to remember you have to roll more 6's to even penetrate it....

    LX

  5. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    36
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    1 (x1)

    so i roll to hit, i hit, then after that hit roll, i roll the number of times i hit, so say i hit 4 times. I roll 4 dice and then i need 6s only. If/When i roll a 6 i take that 6 and roll it again and add 6 plus that dice roll together plus str?

  6. #5
    Senior Member Forsaken2544's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    U.S. NAVY: Italy
    Age
    35
    Posts
    436
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputation
    59 (x1)

    Wow,

    I'm probably going to get in trouble for being too explicit with the rules...but here goes:

    The first step is knowing when rending applies.

    Against models with a Toughness characteristic, rending happens on the 'to hit' roll.
    Against models with an armor value, rending happens on the 'armor penetration' roll

    Its important to know which is which.

    since your question focuses on the armor aspect, we will start there.

    Your creature has hit a vehicle (because it was stationary, or you successfully rolled high enough to hit it, or whatever). How you hit it is irrelevant, only that you have hit it.

    Now, you creture rolls its armor penetration dice. on a 1-5, the formula is the same as any other strike against an armor value "Dice Roll" + Strength. The exception to this is if you roll a '6' If you do roll a '6' the formula adds that 6 and you get another die roll.

    So in this mythical example, the creature has rolled a 6, and will roll a second dice, and add that to the total as well. So the formula becomes (Rending) 6 + second roll + strength.

    Against vehicle, the rending is only figured during the armor pen. roll.

    Respectfully,
    -Forsaken
    * "I'm Significant!" -screamed the dust speck
    * "Call me old fashioned, but an evil ascension to power just isn't the same without someone chanting faux Latin in the background."

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts