Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
So, I was looking through the biomorphs earlier, and after reading implant attack I have a quick question. The way it is worded in the description says that a model that does not pass a saving throw suffers an extra wound. However, if a creature Rends the target, it counts as a power weapon and therefore the opponent does not get to make that save. So, following the way it is written in the book, if one rends a target that does not have an Inv. save, then you do not get the extra wound from implant attack, correct?
Also, random question (correct me if I am wrong): if you were to give your Broodlord Flesh Hooks, but not give it to his retinue, then charge into a group of Guardsmen in a forest, order of attacks goes like this:
BL: I 10 from Flesh Hooks
Guardsmen: I 10 from Cover
GS Retinue: I 6 Standard
As worded you would be correct, but I don't think you would get any flak by using it as intended (i.e. any enemy model that takes a unsaved wound from a close-combat attack takes a additional wound).
To the second question, that would be correct.
Alright, third question:
A GS with Implant Attack hits and wounds a Blood Angel Death Squad member with Feel No Pain. The Marine fails his armor save.
Of course the marine gets his feel no pain for the original wound.
But does he get it for the extra wound that he doesn't get to make a save against?
But implant attack specifies that the MODEL takes an extra wound. I have always assumed that this means it is only effective against multi-wound models.
But yes, if you rend a multi-wound model, and you gave the render Implant Attack, then you should cause an extra wound.
Yea, I don't actually plan to give it to anyone (well, maybe...) I was just curious. Although if the feel no pain works out to not block th IA wound, it might not be so bad against Nurgle.
IA only affects models with multiple wounds, against 1 wound models it doesn't work.
Implant attact will work fine with rending claws. It is the same as a monstrous creature using implant attack. They ignore armour saves because of their rules so they would not get to use it either. An implant attack is stated that it only works after failed armour saves so that people don't try to use it to inflict extra hits.
For example a Hive tyrant with implant attack inflicts four wounds on a squad of ten Marines. The implant attack will not double this to eight wounds and kill eight models. It says the wounds are inflicted after armour saves so that people won't do that. If implant attack is used by a model that is somehow ignoring armour saves it is assumed that they fail automatically and therefore suffer damage as normal from the implant attack.
I believe that FNP is still part of the save step, as no wound has been dealt to the model yet. And the implant attack does say it suffers 2 wounds instead of 1, not that it causes two wounds per hit... but that is a bit hazy.
I would argue that the 4,5,6 of a FNP is saved no ujust blocked
Dear Game Developer,Caps-Lock, its like cruise-control for AWESOMENESS!
Rock is cheese, Paper is just fine
WWP and other Dark Eldar how to
Also, I think Implant Attack does help against people with powers like Feel No Pain, because that model has suffered 2 wounds (Only that model!). Normally, 2 wounds inflicted on a model with 1 wound would still kill it like infincting only 1 wound. But two wounds on someone with Feel No Pain would mean he has to test twice. Meaning for a 1 wound model (nurgle marine), he has to make both tests, or die from out virulent poisons :drinking:
Tyranids Win / Draw /Lost 
Daemon Hunters Win / Draw / Lost 
As stated before, for models with no FNP, IA works fine with rending and would not double the total amount of wounds, but it will inflict an additional wound if the model failed their save (regular or invulnerable). It is only effective only with model that have more than one wound.
With FNP, we have two dist incs situations. If the creature with IA has any sort of attack that allows no armor save, then the model with FNP doesn't get to use the ability and takes up to two wounds, if it is a multi-wound model, or just die, if it is a single-wound model. If the attacks are just regular attacks, then the model with FNP will have a chance of taking a regular saving first. If it fails this save, then the FNP model takes up to two FNP saves taking the wounds for the failed rolls, even if it is a single-wound model.