Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I keep reading that shining spears with an autarch is good to use against HQs and high armor units ( like terminators ). Other than the Autarch and spear exarch getting power weapons, how do they complete this goal? Or is that just it ( the power weapons )?
The reason I ask is I need something that will be able to take on a friends 5 knobb bikes. They get a 4+ cover and feel no pain ( 4+ inv ) and cant figure out a good way to deal with them. Right now, the best thing I can think of is either throwing tons of shots at them ( maybe with a farseer dooming them ) to force him to roll a lot of saves or use 3 walkers with EMLs guided by a farseer.
EDIT: I'm stupid....I somehow missed the fact that their spears count as power weapons in melee.....It's so clear now!
So now my question is, what would be the point of replacing the exarches lance with just a regular power weapon? Should I even take an exarch with hit and run?
Last edited by PartNinja; April 17th, 2008 at 06:27.
Shining spears are a bit funny. I have little experience with them but I'll see if I can help. The SS can only use the power weapon attacks on the turn that they charge into combat, so in every round after that they only attack at their regular strength and no longer use power weapons.
Giving the exarch the power weapon would allow you to have power weapon attacks in the second round of combat. (or third, fourth, etc...)
Giving the Exarch withdraw allows you to charge multiple times. (letting you get those nice spears to work again)
I think the rest of the gear is pretty self explanatory
hope I was of some help
Never apologise for asking questions young seers, through asking
questions we find answers, and through those answers we gain
knowledge of ourselves and the universe around us
Meet My Autarch
Ah I didnt realise the assault only part of it. That kinda foils my plans. Gonna need to hit and run the nobbs since they have two wounds and adding an Autarch will remove that ability. Even if I gave the SS exarch a PW and put them with a Autarch with a PW the str.3 attacks wont wound the nobbs easily.
destroying enemy units in a tumultuous turn. if you can get him to go flying at you, doom it and throw everthing you have at it. then charge with the spears and finish the job. 200-250 VPs in the bag.
no do not give him a power weapon for the simple reason that he is strength 3. I find that giving him a shurikannon comes in very handy since he is BS5. those speeders just don't see it coming8X
the last is up to you, do you even like hit and run tactics? cause you can do that with eldar without needing the special rule. I find it's very expensive and superfluous as you should only really be charging something that you will kill, even with rubber lance. I mean something like 2-3 terminators because you shot the others to death already that turn. I prefer giving them skilled rider so they really can strike from any angle without any large risk to themselves.
Fortes Fortuna Adiuvat
First, read "Forces of the Eldar",pg.21 in the Eldar Codex. It explains that an Autarch joining an aspect warrior squad gains all exarch powers normally applied to the squad. Thus, Hit and Run remains.
Next, take an Autarch with a jetbike, laser lance, mandiblasters and possibly a fusion gun. Attach him to a full unit of Shining Spears with an Exarch weilding a Star Lance and having Withdraw and (somewhat optionally) Skilled Rider.
Now, remembering that the Autarch keeps his pistol, count the number of strength 6/8 power weapon attacks.
I've used just such a squad to horrendous effect over the past few months. With some pre-charge shooting to soften it up, even carnifexes can be rather reliably killed in a single turn of combat. In fact, there isn't a whole heck of a lot that's safe from such a unit. Not to mention having your general charging off with a lance is incredibly cool.
Last edited by Fuzzy Wumpus; April 18th, 2008 at 18:18.
Ah ok so he will get to use HaR. In the 40k rulebook HaR is marked as one of those abilities that is lost. Excellent! Those nobbs will no longer be a problem. Even if the autarch couldnt join i was going to run one with the same set-up described above and just move him with the SSs and assault with them, just not part of the group.
Thanks for the help guys!