Welcome to Librarium Online!
If there are 2 targets to shoot at, and the farther one is lit by markerlight, then could the squad shoot at both of them without a target priority test?
The closest target may be fired on, because it is the closest and so doesnt need a TP test to shoot. The other one has a markerlight, which is used to bypass the TP test. and so the unit can fire at either one of them without having to do a TP test. But can they still split their fire and fire at BOTH (without having to pass a TP test)? see diagram
If a squad of pathfinders have all markerlights, and the team leader has a target lock, must a TP test still be passed to fire the markerlights at different targets and/or anything but the closest enemy?
Lost is 100% right. The target lock in no way allows you to ignore target priority checks.
Mirage Arcana Podcast
The "A Smart Player Will..." theory is a complete paradox. If we make an assumption that everything we do is outsmarted, then theoretically we can never win.
i know target locks dont avoid target priority tests. it wasn't the focus of the question. i was mainly asking about the markerlights not about the target locks.
so if shooting markerlights, you can still only shoot at the closest target unless passing a TP test?
This has been an interesting set of questions!
Q#1: Yes, you can do this. Target Locks require a Target Priority Test (TPT) to be made. The normal sequence for non-markerlight-aided shooting using Target Lock is: Targets declared>TPT is rolled>shots are taken at the targets according to the result of the TPT.
With the ML, you would declare that you are using the ML counter to dispose of the need for the TPT before you would proceed in the normal sequence to take the test. So it would go thus: Markerlight use declared>targets declared>TPT not required>shooting. No problems about doing what you are asking: it follows the rules.
Q#2: Yes, you have to declare your targets for both main unit and Team Leader, then make a TPT to allow the separate targeting. Remember that Markerlights are used instead of firing another weapon, so this is why they have to follow the same rules regarding Target Locks.
Also, when declaring targets you have to declare the *unit's* target first, as the Target Lock allows the T-Leader to target something *other than* that which his team mates are targetting. So you need to know what the unit is firing at first before you can say that he's firing at something else.
Last edited by eiglepulper; May 28th, 2008 at 00:05.
"Tau Commandment #226: Participants who use Velocity Trackers in the Tau Clay Pigeon Tournament will be disqualified"
What do you mean by spliting the firer? You could only do that with TLs right?
thank you, everyone. reading the responses has triggered another question about yet another outside-of-the-box situation. (ya, my brain has a way of thinking of all the angles, which is a nightmare when interpreting warhammer rules)
onto the technical stuff. it's a variation of question 1. although in this situation, there is a third target, which is now the closest (see diagram). target A is still markerlit, though target B is no longer the closest target. Now, a target priority test must be made for the broadsides to shoot, because target B is one of the targets, and is neither markerlit nor the closest.
the question is: if that TP test was FAILED, must the entire broadside squad now all shoot at target C (the closest target, in accordance with the TP rules on p19), or can the leader still shoot at the markerlit target A (due to the TP passing use of the markerlight), or can the entire squad fire at target A (for the same reason)?
The ML allows the whole squad to ignore the target priority test. So if the squad wants to shoot at target A, they can use the ML to automatically pass TPT and shoot at target A.
Now if the team leader wants to shoot at a different target (TL), he'll need to take a TPT to shoot at anything different than target C (closest target)
To summarize, the ML allows _one_ unit to ignore the TPT, but once used, is gone. If the team leader use it, the squad needs TPT to shoot at any target other than the closest. If the squad use it, and if the team leader has target locks and wants to shoot at different squad, then he needs a TPT to shoot at any target other than the closest.