Welcome to Librarium Online!
Right, having an argument with my friend here, and i need some help. So my friend has a warrior, it has four arms, two of them being Scything Talons and Two being rending claws.
He charges me, gets 2 Attacks + 1 for CC (Scything Talons) and 1 for charging, so 4 attacks, with his three warriors making it 12. He then resolves all of that, and then tells me he now gets to hit me with another 9 Rending Claw Attacks. Now i know the rulebook says you can use as many CC biomorphs as possible, but this seems way too fishy. Your telling me for an Extra few points a warrior can launch an extra 3 rending attacks per assault?
Nah, you are right, not your friend. Although I have no page references with me at the moment, I can reliably say that the three models pump your stated amount of attacks- your friend must realize that 'Rending' is an added bonus rule, there is no mention of extra 'added' attacks (Scything Talons specifically talks about that).
Last edited by jONESIE; May 31st, 2008 at 01:44. Reason: fix my grammarmatical mistakes :)
LO RULESOriginally Posted by Jaffar_Hasad
I would have to agree with Jonesie, the only thing that adds attack is dual wielding a weapon or in the case of Tyranids having a set of scything talons. Let me go dig out my rulebook/codex to give you some numbers...
Pg. 31 of the Tyranid codex states when describing scything talons to note that "this is the only way Tyranids gain extra attacks from mutliple weapons". hope that helps.
Three warriors with Scything talons and rending claws on the charge get 12 CC attacks.
These 12 attacks are all rending. That is it. You don't get 12 attacks + 9 rending. You get 12 rending attacks.
Hope this helps.
PG 31. Tyranid codex. "Tyranids with rending claws gain the rending ability for all their close combat attacks."
Hive Fleet Ouragan
To add, rending claws give your melee attacks the rending rule from the BGB. The exception is bioplasm, which does not get the rending rule. (rending spit? yikes, heh.)
You know, TamCoam, I do play it that way, but one would hope GW would have already issued a FAQ clearing it out for once. I point this out, SageSangres since your opponent may try to pull it out, and although the majority of us thinks it does not rend, many people support that it does.
There's been discussion about this point for ages since by RAW it could be interpreted as rending, and a spit rending makes about the same sense as auto-cannons rending or a mace-tail rending or the death company rending or... you know, everything rends nowadays so
I hope that with the new 5th edition update booklet it is cleared for once!
As i have stated before, i am a supporter of rending from bioplasma. To me it makes sense, you are just vomiting insanely all over place and it finds it's way into the crevases or is it perhaps that there are shards in the spit which makes it dice people. Either way, they could have easily said it is not effected by rending like they did about monsterous creatures but they didn't. And they didn't for a reason because they wanted it to have rending.
(and now with 5th bioplasma suddenly becomes good again!)
OT: Your friend played it wrong, what they said!
Dear Game Developer,Caps-Lock, its like cruise-control for AWESOMENESS!
Rock is cheese, Paper is just fine
WWP and other Dark Eldar how to