Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
just wanted to know more about how the hive nodes work it seemed that it talks about them being able to sense synapse, but it also says that all they do is increase the leadership to 10.
so whats the deal.
sounds like you got it all right on
only monstrous creatures dont have to do those tests
Hmm... I don't remember seeing that rule, harvester... acording to my tyranid friend, (and he would not lie about THIS! carnifexes still have to do synapse tests.
So I would say monstrous creatures still test for it...Someone tell me if I'm right or wrong? don't have codex handy...
Necron will stand for eternity.Their race has survived aeons by trading their very souls for metal bodies. Now, they will live on through eternity and will vanquish all life from our universe.For they are Necron. Flesh is weak. The machine will rise!
Montrous creatures DONT have to test for instinctive behaviour- it doesn't specify in the codex but this was cleared up in chapter approved 2003 (the one with the Space wolf dread on it)
IB is a morale check...MCs do have certain special rules regarding morale checks, it's all mentioned on the same page as the IB rules.
1. Yes, Hive Nodes only increase the Ld. They are still susceptible to "All On Your Own" when outside Synapse, and will go Instinctive when they fail Morale or Pinning rolls.
2. Yes, every creature that's not Synapse, Fearless or Mindless need to check "All On Your Own" when out of Synapse range. If they fail, they go Instinctive. This applies to any other Morale and Pinning tests as well, when the creature is outside of Synapse.
Genestealers do not check for "AOYO" for being outside of Synapse nor do they go Instinctive when failing Morale or Pinning, instead they behave in the way specified in the Codex.
As for Carnifex, see the Tyranid Monstrous Creature rules, and recheck answer 2.
"The meat things seek to destroy ourselves. They hunt us as we hunt them but they are weak and uncertain. The inferior flesh will be entirely destroyed, all biomatter consumed. Ourselves will fight to the last, all weak flesh must be devoured."
[QUOTE]1. Yes, Hive Nodes only increase the Ld. They are still susceptible to "All On Your Own" when outside Synapse, and will go Instinctive when they fail Morale or Pinning rolls.
Where exactly is it stated that the Hive Node doesn't act as a limited Synapse for that brood only? I mean, why shouldn't it function that way? The CODEX states that "...exceptionally receptive to the...hive mind...sense commands even if Synapse creatures are not nearby". I take this to mean that the brood with hive node can bee farther away than 12" from a synapase creature. Other wise there would be no point in taking this mutation.
Case in point (ignoring the Ld increase to 10) if you can mutate any creature with numbers or wounds enough (ref. Hive Fleet rules) than you may spend your points and do so. I hardly think GW would include worthless abilities...though they do have some questionable ones.
Still, I can't find it stated anywhere that the hive node dosen't extend the distance a brood can be from a Synapse creature. Besides, I want my hive node Biovores...
"The power of accurate observation is frequently called cynicism by those who don't have it."
- George Bernard Shaw (1856-1950)
"Never interrupt your enemy when he is making a mistake."
- Napoleon Bonaparte (1769-1821)
I hope that you last comment on the bottom of your post doesn't mean that you want to put a Hivenode on Biovores cause if that's the case, then for the love of god read the damm codex and if you don't have it then buy it