Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Bit of a weird question, so I apologise in advance if it comes across as a stupid one.
I can take a unit of howling banshees, for example, and mount them in their own wave serpent. I can also take the wave serpent, but not deploy the banshees inside the wave serpent at the start of the game, even though it is their designated transport, right?
I can also deploy a unit of 6 or less inside a Falcon.
So my question is Can I take a unit of 6 banshees, give them a wave serpent, then deploy them in the falcon instead? This means that I'll have an empty wave serpent deployed as an elite, and a falcon with banshees as a heavy. Or have I overlooked rules?
I think it is allowed, you may not embark them into another DEDICATED transport (well, at least in 4th edition), but I think it's a viable option
I dont think you can deploy any unit inside a falcon, since it's not a dedicated transport, they must start the game next to it and embark on your first turn. Also the banshees have to deployed with their dedicated transport but not necessarily inside. One other thing of note, banshees would count as an elite, but wave serpents take up no FOC slots regardless of whether or not they have a squad in them.
"War does not determine who is right - only who is left" Bertrand Russell
We bring only death, and leave only carrion. It is a message even a Human can understand.
oh, I kinda misread that, you can never DEPLOY a unit inside a falcon, they have to move in on first turn (which is actually much safer), unless you are a land raider (gotta love those special rules)
Ah ok, I must have missed the rules about non-dedicated transports. Yeah I knew you could move them onboard the falcon in the first turn, but the hope was to get people to shoot at the empty wave serpent, whilst the full falcon went by unmolested, Kind of play mind games with my opponent, but it won't work so well if they see them mount the falcon. And yeah I know they don't take up an elite slot by themselves, however when you deploy there is an order to it, and when you get up to the elite part, you'd place the empty serpent. Just a little thought I had, but never mind, I'll have to come up with something else
I am uncertain of any special rule that lets you specifically deploy inside it when not a dedicated transport.
The way we have always played it if a model has a transport capacity, and is not a dedicated transport, you may deploy a unit inside of it subject to scenario special rules (obviously if you cannot deploy elites (for whatever reason) you cannot put them in a falcon.
But otherwise, to my understanding, you may deploy a squad inside a non-dedicated transport.
* "I'm Significant!" -screamed the dust speck
* "Call me old fashioned, but an evil ascension to power just isn't the same without someone chanting faux Latin in the background."
Does anyone have any page references? Or is it purely your interpretation of rules?
I'm away from my book but I think the way it would work is that you can deploy them in the falcon. However you have to say that's what you're doing.
I.e. you'd place the falcon first as normal since it's a heavy. Then in elites you deploy banshees in the falcon and just set down the wave serpent. However you have to say you're putting the banshees in the falcon. So you don't get the surprise.