Welcome to Librarium Online!
Very sorry if this question has already been answered in the FAQ, but i thought with the amazing response rate of this forum, i would recieve an answer alot quicker by posting here, then the time it would take to read the long Tyranid FAQ.
Say you have 10 Ripper swarm bases on the board, and an enemy Devastator squad takes fire and kills one base with it's lascannon, can its heavy bolter then target another Base?
In short, although the 10 bases are technically 'one brood', do they have to have unit coherency, and are they technically the same unit, and so can be multiply targetted by the same unit? (Not including tau.)
Each base is a single X wound model.
The brood of models is the squad.
So the lass cannon would instant kill one base right off, and then the heavy bolter would get to attack. Just remember that all the weapons should be rolled at the same time.
LO RulesOriginally Posted by AnonymousOriginally Posted by Cyric
In 5th, what would happen would be that the devastator squad would target your ripper squad, then check range and LoS to find which models are in range and direct line of fire. Depending on the placement of the squads, your rippers could be in cover and then benefit of a 4+ cover save.
The devastators would fire all weapons that are in range of a target at the same time and after hits and wounds are rolled, you get to assign the wounds to the bases.
This is the point that, depending on the number of wounds inflicted, you may benefit and try to save some bases.
Just keep in mind that if you get a cover save and save it, the base is fine, otherwise the if the save was against a LasCannon shot, the base is gone.
This means that depending on the number of wounds inflicted and the number of bases in your brood, you can probably assign the wounds to allow cover saves against the LasCannon shots or multiple LasCannons shots to the same base, saving bases using this process.
I know this sounds confusing, but wounds assignment will be very important in 5th.