Welcome to Librarium Online!
Im a chaos player and my friend started playing tau recently. Just wanted to know as i couldnt find this searching. Can i measure my 6 inc assualt move distance using the shield drones or do i have to use the battle suit. As well do only the shield drones count as being in base to base.
Ill give an example of what happend.
My berzerkers were within 6 of his drones but not the suit. We agreed so i assualted. I wiped the drones and now his battle suit was i think 4 inches or so out of base to base. We agreed that no attacks could be dealt by the suit do to no base to base, he consalidated and the round ended.
Not sure if this is right so i thought id try to help him out and ask since he never seems to find any of this out on his own. Thanks.
I almost forgot. Since im on drones if the suit is hit with blast or templates do i role hits and wounds for each model so 1 for the suit and 2 more for the drones or just 1?
Well the drone is a part of the battlesuit's squad, so the drone should have been within squad coherency, so you can indeed charge the drone.
Now are you playing 4th edition or 5th?
In 4th, you can charge the drone, and if the battlesuit is 2" from anyone in base to base, he can contribute only 1 attack.
In 5th edition, the battlesuit counter charges up to 6" in order to get as much into base to base as possible.
To answer your 2nd question,
In 4th edition, you first roll for partials (4+) under the template, then roll wounds for people totally under the template + any partials you hit, then he allocates wounds to whoever was under.
In 5th edition, there are no longer partials, so you just roll to wound everyone who the template touches, and then he may allocate the wounds anywhere in the squad as long as he specifies where the wounds are going (example: 2 wounds, he can choose to allocate both to drones even though the battlesuit is under the template and the 2nd drone is not)
Hope that answers your questions, if not, my bad.. and if I am incorrect, somebody please correct me!
"Your tongues can't repel flavor of that magnitude!"
We are still palying with 4th and it does sound like we did everything correct. Except i think you may be wrong on templates, unless you just meant the 2 blast templates. Right now "templates" flamers etc partcials wound but blast and large blast roll as you said for partials.
But yeah that clears things up im glad i argued abit on this with my friend since he has played nidz for years and im fairely new. So sometimes he tries to railroad me with rules mixed with fluff.