Welcome to Librarium Online!
In the Necron FAQ it states that -
Any model directly under the center of the Large Blast Template of the Particle Whip takes an AP1 hit. The new rules for blast weapons state that the defending player may remove casualties from the unit as a whole, not necessarily those under the template, and this rule remains in effect with the exception of the model directly beneath the hole of the template.
Does this mean that if I place the template with the hole over a character and it doesn't scatter the character will take the hit?
Check out my blog for army pictures and more - The Hogs of War
As a general rule, more specific rules from a FAQ or codex override the rulebook when they clash.
This ability has been removed with the new Necron FAQ released for 5th edition.
"There is only do, or do not. There is no try." - Yoda