Welcome to Librarium Online!
Can the deceiver run in the shooting phase and still use his decieve ability.?
As far as running is concerned though, the results are the same. I.e. you cannot use it if you run.
"Come to the dark side! We have cookies!"
Actually, he can. You can run "instead of shooting". His Deceiver ability is done in the shooting phase, but it is not a shooting attack. So he can, in fact, do both.That's not what the rulebook states. It just says instead of firing.Run is only useable when the unit doesn't do anything else with it's shooting phase.
So does that same logic apply to other things done in the shooting phase, such as eldar psychic powers that are done "in the shooting phase instead of firing a weapon"?
No, because run takes the place of firing a weapon, also. You can only do one thing that replaces firing a weapon. The Deceiver's ability, however, does *not* replace firing a weapon. It's simply done in the shooting phase.