Welcome to Librarium Online!
As we all know, codices go bevor rulebook.
so because no errata has change the CC rules for the mandraks, they should still aply as they are written in the codex?
So am I reading it right that mandrakes allways strike first and have their coversave against CC Attacks? Because it says: "..they always count as in Cover, even in CC.."
Am I right here?
You can't have a cover save in CC so I'm pretty sure they don't have a 5+ cover save in CC. I think what the codex means by them always being in cover even in CC is that unless the opposition has frag/plasma grenades then the mandrakes will always strike first when being attacked. Now I'm not too sure if its when they are attacking, because by the time they are that close the enemy would be able to clearly see them if they charge. I'm pretty sure its just as defending they always strike first (no putting grenades into the mix) and they dont get a 5+ cover save in combat. Otherwise it may as well be invulnrable.
Omg a signature!
The rule clearly says they allways count in cover and get a 5+ Cover save. this counts in an assault aswell.
Now a question at this point.
Does the english rulebook make a difference between assault and CC? Because the german codex speaks of CC and that would clearly mean every round. but if assault is just the first attacking, that I would apologise for my first question.
but the 5+ coversave should still apply, as it says it also counts in an assault.
Direct quote from english version: "This counts as well, so unless the attackers are armed with gfra grenades, the Mandrakes will always strike first."
So no they dont get the cover save in close combat, but when assaulted they act as being in cover ie getting to hit first regardless of iniative.
Ok. as I sad, the german book is a bit unclear. the english one cleans up the mess.