Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Hey, I just read in the new rulebook that all jump infantry can now deep strike... Does that mean we Warp Spider users never have to pay 15 points for it again?
I guess so huh...
essentially, yes, that's exactly what it means. Also means that the Autarch can always join them if he's got the jetpack.
Also means every other type of jump infantry (including the Flying Hive Tyrant in theory) can deep strike.
Oh wow. I didn't realise that. Wicked.
"They say the Darkness consumes you. They don't say what happens after It's done."
I've had my winged DP deep strike, the result isn't pretty.
obviously you don't just deep strike them because you can... read the tacticas...
in case of a daemon prince... it would actually work if you provided him with alternatives (or not, and just charge the crap out of him with everything else while he shoots the prince)
Wait, a monstrous creature with wings can deep strike? The codex says that all jump infantry can deep strike, but it doesn't say that units that move like jump infantry can deep strike. A hive tyrant is a monstrous creature, wings or no. Any clarification would be appreciated.
deep striking counst as moving for the purposes of shooting, but nothing else. Therefore, monstrous creatures than count as jump infantry for the purposes of moving cannot deep strike. You just have to read the rules more than once.
1. "counts as jump infantry" (deep strike: yes)
2. "moves as jump infantry" (deep strike: no)
The same discussion is being brought up at the Tyranid forums:
Last edited by Errors; July 18th, 2008 at 15:32.
Tyranid and Eldar player....don't ask me how I ended up playing these two armies, just smile, nod, slowly move away and don't make eye contact!
Rulebook says...Chaos Space Marine codex says...All jump infantry units mayenter battle by 'deep strike', as explained on page 95.So NO. If the unit does not have ability to deep strike itself nor is Jump Infantry, it may NOT Deep Strike into battle.Models equipped with winds move in the same way as Jump Infantry, as described in the Warhammer 40'000 rulebook.
The other subject is that later in Wings description it is written that models with Wings may Deep Strike, so in example Daemon Prince always could. Yet, iunless it is specified by Tynids that models with wings may deep stirke, Tyrants cannot.