Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Hi all. Was reading through the codex last night trying to drift off to sleep in the British 'Summer' heat and noticed two things that are of interest to me.
1. Reading the Stormboyz entry, it says that when the Stormboyz utilise their Jetpacks to move as Jump Infantry, they must roll a D6 (on a 1 a casualty is suffered), and regardless of the roll result (i.e. a casualty) this is added to their movement.
So does this give them 6" basic moving as infantry + D6" counting as Jetpack movement + 6" for Assault?
Or is it 12" for Jetpack Movement + D6" from the Special Rule + 6" Assault.
They also cannot Waaagh! since the FAQ has been updated, but presumably they can still Run... in which case, presume the 2nd interpretation of the rules is correct and you would have 12" Movement from Jetpacks, + D6" from the Special Rule + D6" from Running. Meaning they could have a possible 24" Movement on the first turn of the game?
How have you all interpreted this ruling?
2. Looted Wagons can be used to transport units, now this may sound daft but can they transport units that cannot buy a Transport? Such as Tankbustas, Lootas, Burnas etc. and is this the way people have been saying "[insert unit name] is only useful when being used in a Transport".
I'm probably being blaringly idiotic asking the above question, but it never occured to me until last night when I was jotting a list and decided with 5th Ed, I'd buy a Trukk for a 12 Boy squad, chuck them out of it to hold an objective / base close to my deployment zone and then move a unit of Tankbustas into the Trukk to zoom off.
Then I read that Looted Wagons can be used as a transport so thought maybe I'd use that to get my Tankbustas from A to B and minimise their Glory Hogs rule as much as possible.
2.5 Cheeky question I've added at the end... Are Looted Wagons worth it to taxi Tankbustas and / or Burnas across the Battlefield? I've got 2 Chaos Predators sat at home that I got cheap and have no intention of using in my already 4,000pt strong Chaos force... so could easily be made into Looted Wagons.
So yeah, are they worth it, or would my points and Predators be better used on other things?
Thanks in advance to any who answer, I have checked the GW FAQs and all that, so all answers and help is appreciated! Thanks
Last edited by Hobbit88; July 16th, 2008 at 10:19. Reason: Spelling Mistake
Proud Member of Manchester Area Wargames Society
Yes, you can use a looted wagon to transport units that can't buy a dedicated transport. However, due to its precious freight it's more common to use a battle wagon to transport troops whereas the looted wagons are being use as firesupport with their boom gunz.
"Fear not and look up to the sky for salvation, for we have entered orbit."
Blood Angels 2nd Grail Guard Company
Yes, any troop can use a looted wagon or battlewagon, as long as they can fit inside. Yes, it's definitely worth it, although for expensive troops, a battlewagon might be better. It depends if you can afford it. Tankbustas, burnas, nobz, meganobz, and small groups of boyz (12 or less) are the units that always need transports. I wouldn't give them a looted wagon unless they didn't have the option to take a trukk, and a battlewagon is better if they cost close to 200 points. That's a unit you don't want to lose. Just remember the looted wagon takes up a heavy slot.
As for stormboyz, they get 12in movement + d6 from their special ability + 6in assault.
I don't see why they can't run. I don't remember reading anything in the 5th edition rulebook that says jump infantry can't run in the shooting phase (it might be there, but I don't remember seeing it). Just remember that they won't be able to assault in the assault phase, not even if you call the wauuughhh, since you don't have that special rule. It's not really broken, considering how vulnerable stormboyz are if they're not locked in close combat.
Last edited by mynameisgrax; July 16th, 2008 at 13:53. Reason: added stormboyz part
"Any job worth doing, is worth doing with a powerklaw."
As far as I can see in the rule book, there is nothing to say that Jump Inf cannot run. (In both the running and jump inf entries) So I would say that yes, you could combine both the stormboyz d6" rule with the run rule.
Want to chat? You can normally find me in the LO CHAT!
LO CHAT! JOIN US NOW AND BECOME A GOD OF BACON.
I could have sworn I saw that jump infantry don't count as infantry as far as running is concerned. Which would explain why they lost Waagh as they could never use it. I'm interested to hear the answer on this one.
W/D/L Ork Tide 22/1/14
Click here to feed me some squigs