Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I've been searching through the website for about an hour now hunting for answers but have yet to find them since these questions are dealing with the 5th edition rules and I didn't see anything in the FAQ. I apologize if I missed the answers listed elsewhere but some help with the following questions would be GREATLY appreciated.
- Can Monstrous Creatures run? I read in the core rule book that if your exiting rough terrain and entering assault your initiative is lowered to 1? Is this right?! Is it true that if you Run you can't assault without a special rule?
- If I deep strike with a winged tyrant he doesn't get his movement phase the turn he enters but he can still shoot and assault is that right? (I know stupid question but I"m really confused here)
- Can biovores do indirect fire? Like park them behind a forest and just shoot over top the forest? Does it still scatter even if you do direct fire?
- Do the blast weapons the 'nids use scatter? I recall in 4th edition it said you just use the blast template but the shot didn't scatter....do I have to roll scatter dice for my weapons now? (Please tell me no)
- Winged Tyrants still count as HQ not Fast right?
"Ohm nom nom nom"
1. yes MC can run, hello mr cc fex and yes if you run you can't assault.
2. shoot yes, assault no
3. all blast weapons scatter
4. all blast weapons scatter
5. HQ, nothing in the codex says it becomes a fast attack if it takes wings.
all blast scatter...dang I'm dead then. My scatter dice hate me :p they scatter 1d6 or 2d6?
"Ohm nom nom nom"
Dreachon kindly answered your specific questions...
Issues like how many dice I'm sure you can find in the 5th Ed rule book.
Stick some adrenal glands to yourself and use some increased initiative.
Ok well shoot....
Can Biovores do indirect fire? Do they need line of sight or can I just lob spores out from behind terrain?
Can a Barbed strangler held by a Carnifex (normal strength) blow up a tank? Its D6+(weapon strength) isn't it? (D6+8= good chance to pierce armor?)
"Ohm nom nom nom"
Not to sound mean and dodging the question, but these things are answered in the codex/main rule book. So I'm just going to give you page numbers.Vehicle armor penetration is found on page 60 of the rulebook.Can a Barbed strangler held by a Carnifex (normal strength) blow up a tank? Its D6+(weapon strength) isn't it?
The barbed strangler has a good chance against some tanks, but a lousy chance against others. AV for tanks varies from 10 to 14. Giving you a 5/6 chance to do something against AV10, but a 1/6 chance to do something against AV14. AV14 is pretty rare. A common 4th ed carnifex load is the sniperfex (ES, BS, VC). Was the best anti-tank option we had. Got a little nerfed in 5th ed because glancing can no longer destroy a tank.
"The internet perceives censorship as damage, and routes around it."
You can also look through the army lists in the back of the new book to get a feel for what kinds of armor each army has and the AV of them.
The spore mine entry in the Tyranid codex does not follow the example given on page 32 (5e Rules book). Why? I have no idea, other than "It's a Tyranid," but it is understandable how the conflicting information on those two pages may be confusing.