Welcome to Librarium Online!
With the new rules for allocating wounds from shooting, what happens to a Hive tyrant with tyrant guard? If they suffer enough wounds, do some go ont the tyrant?
Just wondering since the whole point of the 'guard' is to stop the tyrant form getting shot.
Winter War Winner with:
Tyranid and Eldar player....don't ask me how I ended up playing these two armies, just smile, nod, slowly move away and don't make eye contact!
A Hive tyrant with Tyrant guard becomes on eof the models in the unit. The Hive tyrant isn't an independent character so if the Hive tyrant has Tyrant guard it is just one model in a brood of two to four Tyranids. All the rules say is the Hive tyrant cannot be picked out even though it is a monstrous creature, however the rules don't say it is immune to being hit by something.
If you have a brood of four Tyranid warriors and one has a venom cannon the one with the venom cannon cannot be singled out but it can still be hurt. If the Warriors take four wounds then two would be removed and the other two would be unhurt. This is because when a unit with multiple wounds takes damage you must remove models as soon as possible. You cannot decide that if the Warriors take four wounds to put a wound on each Warrior so they will all survive longer. This means the one with the venom cannon could avoid damage. The same applies to a Hive tyrant with Tyrant guard. The Hive tyrant is just a member of the brood so long a one Tyrant guard is alive.
If each guard has taken a different option, you would be able to assign the wounds as you wish (as each model is different.) When the wounds exceed the size of the group and double, you could double up the more powerful hits onto one or more guards of your choice.
If any of the models are exactly the same, then the wounds must be applied to those models as a group, and multi wound models would have to stack damage and be removed as soon as possible.
If you had a mixed group of models, you could apply the lighter wounding weapons to the Tyrant and guards that share the same options, and apply the hardest hit to a guard with a different option (that no other guard has). When the wounds double, you could place another hard wound on the same guard who already had a hard hit placed on him, before the dice are finally rolled.
Last edited by warprat; July 26th, 2008 at 19:10.
Under Tyrant Guard rules, you have to kit them all out the same way, not lash whips on one, flesh hooks on the other. So you'll be putting wounds across the board, but the Tyrant takes the last of them.
It would be convenient to upgrade your guard to the same armor as the Tyrant. And under an Apocalypse formation, you can. So currently, be sure the AP3 wounds go on the Tyrant.
Do not meddle in the affairs of Tyranids, for you are crunchy, and good with ketchup.
So wait, has any one answered the question?
How i see it (and tell me if you think i'm wrong) is that if a tyrant that has 1 guard is wounded twice and one wound is given to the tyrant and the other is given to the guard and they both fail their save then the guard is removed ans none go to the tyrant because multi-wound units must remove the model as fast as possable.
Or is both given the wound because the tyrant is a diffrent model. The way i see it is that there are conflicting rules here.
Army's used: Space Wolves, Tomb Kings, High Elves, Tyranids, Tau and Eldar.
Basically the unit gets broken up into mini-units of like type critters and then you apply the remove whole models as fast as possible. So if you have a HT with 2 Tyrant guard and suffer 2 lascannon wounds, you would put a wound on each of the guard and then check to see if there are saves. If you fail both saves (cover if you got it, otherwise just eat it), you then remove one guard.
"The internet perceives censorship as damage, and routes around it."
The previous posts generally tell you how to do it but not really why.
To answer the question you simply need to understand the Shieldwall rule and why it's there.
5th ed rules for Assigning wounds don't change with Shieldwall. Because the Shieldwall rule says basically to treat the unit as if the Tyrant wasn't a Monstrous Creature and assign wounds normally. Without the rule Lascannons could pick him out of the unit ignoring the Tyrant Guard completely.
e.g. Devastators "I shoot the Tyrant standing in that unit, with 4 Lascannons" Splat! (lucky Devastators)
Tyranid Player "Damn Dead Tyrant."
But the Shieldwall rule stops him being picked out;
Devastators "I shoot the Tyrant Unit with 4 lascannons, Yay 3 Wounds"
Tyranid Player: "Well then that's 1 on each of my Tyrant Guard"
Devastators "What, only 1 Dead Guard and 1 wound on a Guard!?"
Tyranid Player "Yep!"