Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I think the title says it all, really. My instinct is that they can't run in the shooting phase whilst "unrevealed", but I could easily be wrong.
Thanks for your help.
~ Raven ~
in the rules for mandrakes on page 8 it says that they may not use fleet of foot as fleet of foot is just a universal bonus to run now a days I would say no they can't.
It's an interesting one this. My reading of the rules doesn't lead me to decide that simply because Mandrakes can't shoot then they can't run, since the option to run is instead of shooting during the shooting phase. In addition, applying this logic to running would mean that any models that didn't have any weapons to shoot with, eg. Grotesques, wouldn't be able to run either. And we really should keep "Fleet" separate from "Running" since the rules are quite different, although I have to accept that the same sort of principle might apply in this particular case.
It mentions quite plainly in the Mandrake description that the markers may only move in the movement phase, they may not make a "fleet of foot" move instead of shooting while being a marker. Using simple logic, the "fleet of foot move" (the action of rolling 1 die and moving that many inches in the shooting phase instead of shooting) is the equivalent to the "run" move.
How this can be questioned, rationalized, rules lawyered or just plain not understood is a deliberate assault to your opponents common sense - I am just going to pretend we are just thinking out loud, there are no "easter eggs" here.
P.S. If one needs to shoot in order to "run" then try this question out in the Tyranid forum, they would love you for it.
"On a hunch, I melted them down and inhaled the fumes and read the dark eldar codex again, AND FOUND A BUNCH OF NEW RULES HIDDEN BEHIND THE OTHER WORDS..." [Gardeth on modelling & interpreting the DE Codex]
Definitely not because of the Hidden Deployment rules in their Special Rules.
"All the individual models may do is move 6"............"
"They can do hothing else,.................."
In 'counter mode' they are not even a model until you decide which counter to choose to represent them, so no dangerous terrein tests, no running, no shooting and no intereaction within the game whatsoever.
They are just a movement blip on the radar screen that the enemy can do nothing about except worry - thats the beauty of them.
In a controversy the instant we feel anger we have already ceased striving for the truth, and have begun striving for ourselves.
Agree with Wicky here, the "All they may do" sentence says it all. May they move? yes because all they can do is move 6" in the movement phase. May they shoot? No because all they can do is move 6" in the movement phase. may they assault? No because all they can do is move 6" in the movement phase.
It is also a pity that they can't give cover saves... oh the dodgy dodgy manouvers we could pull off!
Dear Game Developer,Caps-Lock, its like cruise-control for AWESOMENESS!
Rock is cheese, Paper is just fine
WWP and other Dark Eldar how to
"no, you are firing through the gaps between models so it's a 4+ cover save"
"but they are on opposite sides of the damn board"
"don't blame me, it's the rules"
I don't even want to think about that. If we're going to discuss that though, I suggest a new thread.
Its like claiming a unit of downed necrons provide a cover save or anything standing behind their broken, crippled bodies (aka debris).