Cover from Stealth Team? - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Member Magus_Arts's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Age
    34
    Posts
    64
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    20 (x1)

    Cover from Stealth Team?

    Does a Stealth Team provide the 4+ cover save to units it is between like other units normally do in 5th ed.?

    AAAAAA


    SSSS

    BBB


    Does B get a cover save if A is firing at it?


  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Firefly Skarsgard's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Outer Rim
    Age
    44
    Posts
    4,209
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    399 (x8)

    Sure does. With JSJ it is even better as you can move the Stealths out of the way so that your models have an unobscured view of the enemy models.
    Mirage Arcana Podcast
    The "A Smart Player Will..." theory is a complete paradox. If we make an assumption that everything we do is outsmarted, then theoretically we can never win.

  4. #3
    With Oden On Our Side... The Doctor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    I'm on a boat!
    Age
    27
    Posts
    1,137
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    43 (x3)

    This was discussed at my LGS today.
    The argument I made was that even if the enemy can't see the Stealth Suits, they are still there, and they are still solid objects. Granted, a successful cover save doesn't mean a wound on the unit, but that's pretty much how I see it.

    ...Imagine if you did take wounds on the unit that is providing the cover save...

    Half Gods are worshiped with Wine and Flowers. Real Gods are worshiped in Blood.

    Blood for the Blood God! Beer for the Bronze Keg!

  5. #4
    Member skullhammer75's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    96
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    0 (x0)

    I would have to say no as the stealths can be ignored when it comes to shooting a further target as part of there own rules shame really, then again giving your opponant the stealths to shoot would be nuts anyway as they are so costly.(i do play tau)

  6. #5
    LO's Shadow Captain Lost Nemesis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Virginia, USA
    Age
    27
    Posts
    12,783
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    ReputationReputationReputationReputation
    830 (x8)

    Quote Originally Posted by skullhammer75 View Post
    I would have to say no as the stealths can be ignored when it comes to shooting a further target as part of there own rules shame really, then again giving your opponant the stealths to shoot would be nuts anyway as they are so costly.(i do play tau)
    I thought the rules simply stated that Stealth Suits can be ignored for the purposes of target priority? They are still there, and the enemy is still shooting through the unit. As stated above, the cover save could be explained by "the enemy has an obstructed view" as well as by "there are Stealth Suits, physically, in the way."

  7. #6
    Member Magus_Arts's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Age
    34
    Posts
    64
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    20 (x1)

    LN I'm pretty sure it just says they can be ignored for target priority (meaningless in 5th). I imagine the stealth field kind of like the predator effect. So trying to fire through a unit of these guys you'd constantly be seeing the far unit disappear and reappear as the stealth suits moved around.

  8. #7
    Senior Member ZenGamer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Eastern PA, USA
    Age
    38
    Posts
    744
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    137 (x3)

    Quote Originally Posted by Magus_Arts View Post
    LN I'm pretty sure it just says they can be ignored for target priority (meaningless in 5th). I imagine the stealth field kind of like the predator effect. So trying to fire through a unit of these guys you'd constantly be seeing the far unit disappear and reappear as the stealth suits moved around.
    As you said, target priority is meaningless in 5th edition. There is nothing in the rules anywhere that says stealth suits do not provide a cover save to a unit behind them. They are a unit, and a unit between two other units provides a cover save if the LOS goes between models, period. There is nothing anywhere in the rules (either BGB or Tau codex) that would even suggest that this is not the case.

    The only room for debate is whether or not they SHOULD provide a cover save... Does it make sense? I think it does, as they are physically still there whether the firing unit can see them or not.
    -Thread Killer Bryan
    Tyranid Hive Fleet Typhoeus
    T'au Empire, Bork'an Sept

  9. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    235
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    38 (x1)

    RAW: Yes they are a unit in the way they will grant a 4+ cover save

    Fluff: Yes, they emit distorting fields they aren't truly invisible, these distorting fields would make targetting things behind them very difficult.

    Fairness: Personally I think it's reasonable to do it, stealthsuits are a pretty expensive unit to use for screening given that if they are in range for their burst cannons odds are in the enemies favour for being able to target them.

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts