Welcome to Librarium Online!
So i was playing against my tyranid friend earlier to day, and i chose to shoot his carnifex with bright lance, i got the wound.
He said because gaunts were in front of him he gets his 4+ cover save, i said ok because he could not see how both monstrous creatures were well over the guants, using true line of sight.
I just want to know, do things like gaunts+genestealers give cover saves to carnifexes if being shot at by wraithlords?
If any part of the model that you're shooting at is obscured or you are shooting through a unit to get to your target, then they get a cover save.
I don't have the rule book right in front of me, but I though monstrous creatures needed 50 percent obscured to get the cover save. Or is that vehicles. Or is that nothing.
banic: that's actually not strictly the case. With monstrous creatures the 50% rule is in effect (same as with vehicles) at least 50% of the model must be obscured for the creature to count as obscured and thus get the 4+ cover save.
Check the Monstrous Creatures section for more info.
alright thanks, ill check it out
Check the Line of Sight from the Wraithlords head, he is probably tall enough to be able to see the entire Carnifex without the guants getting in the way. Then if you start to argue, say he's got a 5+ save.
Warhammer Fantasy: Warriors of Chaos, High Elves
Warhammer 40k: Eldar, Space Marines, Orks
You're absolutely correct, King.
I didn't check the MC section, just the shooting section, since I was at work >.>