Welcome to Librarium Online!
I am reading through the section on shooting and cover saves and I want to make sure I understand something.
We have this section -
Intervening models on page 21
If a target is partially hidden from the firer’s view by
other models, it receives a 4+ cover save in the same
way as if it was behind terrain.
And we have this section on page 22 -
• Firing through units or area terrain: If a model
fires through the gaps between some elements of
area terrain (such as between two trees in a wood)
or through the gaps between models in an
intervening unit, the target is in cover, even if it is
completely visible to the firer. Note that this does
not apply if the shots go over the area terrain or unit
rather than through it (see the photographic
To me this would mean that if there were a unit of scarabs between a unit of enemies and a unit of warriors the warriors would get a 4+ save (assume all models are on the same level). All you have to obscure is part of a leg on half the models and you get the save, right?
Add in the second section and if you have one or two bases obscuring a warrior or two and the rest of the shots are unobstructed through the gaps in the scarabs it seems that you would get your 4+ cover save as well.
Does this sound right to anyone else?
(Please let me know if posting rules like this for discussion is against forum policy and I will summarize them instead of posting like I have)
Check out my blog for army pictures and more - The Hogs of War
Short answer, yes - 4+ cover save
I guess the toss is, we gain a cover save but so does the enemy as our lines shoot through the scarabs.
"There is only do, or do not. There is no try." - Yoda
Wow. You just gave me a reason to use some Ripper Swarms for my 'Nids. Hadn't thought of that before but I guess that if just a small part is covered that would work....(Now how many rippers can I fit on a single base???)
Yes they get a cover save as the small creature rule is no longer there, thatrs what i use a line of rippers then gaunts then warriors then mc's every thing gets cover execpt the ripper buy true los, the same system should work with scarabs then warriors then destroyers.
Short answer is yes... but a few things to note.
- Check the swarms rule. They grant cover to troops but not to vehicles on monstrous creatures.
- Check the cover rule. At least 50% of the squad must be obstructed in some way, even if it's just a foot being blocked from LOS. If they only obstruct LOS for 1 or 2 troops in a ten man squad then no cover save.