Welcome to Librarium Online!
Hey all, i have a situation/question:
One of the Harq troops has a special power. That power makes the unit secondary target, so it can't be targeteted first. My question is that: what happenes if there are no other troops on LOS or in range? My trops will ignore the enemy (lets say, that they can see them)? If that is the case than it is stupid.
- Sarge, there is a troop of dancing evil clowns, can we shoot them?
- No you can't! Look for other enemy squads!
- But Sarge!
- THIS WAS AN ORDER, SOLDIER!!!!
if this is the case, than i will stop fighting eldar with my GK army, until we get a new Codex. LPz help me, thank you!
I think you're thinking about the Veil of Tears, and you have the rules wrong. The rule is basically a better version (for the Harlequins) of the Night Fighting rules; there is no "secondary target" rule. Next you face the Eldar player claiming that to be the rules, ask him to look in the Eldar codex (or pick one up at your local shop) to read the rule yourself.
We did, we looked at it, and there it stated that the group with that power cannot be targeted as a primary target ( we play 4th ed), and no LD test is required if i want to attack another group. But on the left side of the troops were the end of the table, on the other side was a forest ( way over 6" long and wide) and there were no other targets in the LOS. Anyway i got a shot on them, stating, that if they can't attack them as only available targets because they can't see them ( hallucination... on a battle field u care about that, right?), I give up. In the end I lost fair and square, but thats another story, but still, this rule makes the Harqs pwn all...
I think you're misreading the rule. Harlequins may be ignored for purposes of target priority, which means you don't have to roll a leadership test if you want to target a unit further beyond them. There is no "primary target" rule, nor one preventing you from shooting at the Harlequins (except the Veil of Tears, which again follows rules similar to Night Fighting).
You may be playing 4ed WH40K rules - but what Harlie rules are you using? In the current Eldar codex Veil of Tears does not work like you suggest.
We play pure 4th ed (until i get my hands on a 5th GK ed book!). But NVM, next time i will be prepared. Thx for the help, and yes ELDAR = HAX!
Again, make sure to read the Harlequins entry in the Eldar codex; you'll find that there is nothing about primary or secondary targets, and the only rules even close are the Veil of Tears Night Fighting-esque rule and the rule that Harlequins (under Veil of Tears) can be ignored for target priority reasons.