Monolith and auto penetrating and auto glancing shots - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Northwest Arkansas
    Age
    35
    Posts
    81
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    12 (x1)

    Monolith and auto penetrating and auto glancing shots

    Is a monolith affected by weapons that auto penetrate and auto glance? I know that the Eldar have some weapons like that - D-Cannons maybe? - and I know that Breath of Chaos will auto glance on a 4+ - but does living metal protect against this?

    Check out my blog for army pictures and more - The Hogs of War


  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    LO's Shadow Captain Lost Nemesis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Virginia, USA
    Age
    27
    Posts
    12,783
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    ReputationReputationReputationReputation
    830 (x8)

    I'm pretty sure Monoliths are affected by these sorts of weapons like normal, but when in doubt, read the codex. It should be answered in the Living Metal blurb in the Monolith entry, or in the Necrons FAQ.

  4. #3
    LO Zealot gauss_storm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    1,552
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    103 (x5)

    Basically what is'nt allowed is your opponent rolling more than 1 d6 to penetrate. With the except of the turbo penetrator round.


  5. #4
    Senior Member Dark Trainer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Age
    38
    Posts
    1,877
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    102 (x5)

    Yup, meaning KILL those chaos flamers!!! I had the same army surprise me with that 4+ auto glance...bah! I quickly learned once those things land...they're my next target!

    If you'd like to know my surprise, he landed 6" from one of his marker squads to assure accuracy of his deep strike. I had just pulled a squad of 14 warriors through next to the monolith. So his 3 flamers popped the template BARELY touching the lith, and hitting all 14 warriors (+res orb lord). My god that was a painful 3 flamers!!! Luckily the lith got shaken, stunned results!
    Last edited by Dark Trainer; August 7th, 2008 at 21:13.
    "There is only do, or do not. There is no try." - Yoda

  6. #5
    Member Cp_Morgan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Heraklion - Crete
    Age
    37
    Posts
    149
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    4 (x1)

    When i am playing against demons i try to have warriors arround my monolith in that way so their flame wont reach my tank. 95% of the times is working and he cannot do anything just to kill some warriors and next round lose his flamers

  7. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Northwest Arkansas
    Age
    35
    Posts
    81
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    12 (x1)

    Thanks for clearing that up. I had told someone the other day that it was immune to those things (first game playing with a monolith) and I wanted to double check.

    The monolith entry in the codex is confusing. Under living metal in there it says that powerfists do not get extra dice but in the new FAQ it says they do.
    Check out my blog for army pictures and more - The Hogs of War


  8. #7
    LO Zealot gauss_storm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    1,552
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    103 (x5)

    Quote Originally Posted by bobsacks View Post
    Thanks for clearing that up. I had told someone the other day that it was immune to those things (first game playing with a monolith) and I wanted to double check.

    The monolith entry in the codex is confusing. Under living metal in there it says that powerfists do not get extra dice but in the new FAQ it says they do.
    It actually does'nt say power fists dont get strength bonuses. It say nothing gets modified strength against Ap which is another way of saying "you cant roll more than one dice plus your strength"


+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts