Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
do enemy troops get a cover sv from the large blast marker that the monolith fires off (i think its ap3) if terrain or troops or MCs are in between it and its target or is it guess type ordinance?
does the possition of the hole in the template determine direction...eg so if the template covers 2 squads with the hole being in amongst one would the guys next to them that are partially covered get cover Svs?
also when determining LOS for the monolith do i measure from the barrel or is it hoveing way above the table... say 2 feet...so can see and be seen by everything?
draw an imaginary line from the crystal (I think the monolith fires in a straight line not a curve) If he can see you chances are he's firing over whatever you're claiming as cover unless it's are terrain or huggable e.g. a wall. and you measure from where the model is on the table, you don't say in reality the monolith is higher than that, cause in reality there is no monolith.
and the hole would almost definitely determine direction, and it does depend where the second squad is. if in area terrain or behind a wall then yes thay do, but if they're in the open and would get a cover save only if the monolith fires straight at them, then they don't get it. just an educated guess really, I don't know much about necrons.
Fortes Fortuna Adiuvat
Templates ignore cover saves
1. Troops under the blast marker from the Monolith's Particle Whip do get a cover save, if they are in cover. Template weapons ignore cover, yes, but the Particle Whip is an Ordnance/Blast weapon. Not a Template weapon.
2. A squad will only get a cover save if they are in cover or if they are being shot at through another unit. Draw a line of sight from the crystal on the Monolith to the target unit. Are they obscured by another unit? If not, they get no cover save. If the shot scatters to another unit, it does not count as shooting 'through'. (p.30, rulebook)
3. You measure from the weapon firing, unless specified otherwise.
Template is only the tear drop shaped one that flamers fire. The circles are Blast Markers. Blast Markers do not automatically negate cover.
Cover is assessed from the view of the firing model. The center of the template is used only for Barrages. The Particle Whip is not a Barrage.
As others have pointed out, the Monolith is a rather tall model. It can probably see over most things that would normally give cover. Remember Area Terrain always gives cover. However, it is where it is, physically on the board. You cannot chose an arbitrary height to declare it flying at in order to see over a large piece of scenery.
As per the latest Necron FAQ, the Particle Whip may be 'fired' from any of the weapon mountings on the Monolith. (any corner or the crystal, essentially)
Can the barrel swing more than 45* or 90* can it fire back on it's self ?
must it use the closest barrel? or as you say any?
since it uses ordinance template can it move and fire this wep?
I do not think that the crystal counts as any weapon actually, nowhere in the Codex I think it is specified as such, or am I mistaken? In the FAQ, only the "weapons" are mentioned for shooting purposes, it also does not say "crystal" anywhere there...
Smok, that's right :) Many people took the habit from measuring the Particle Whip shot from the top crystal in 4th edition, but it is no longer the case now. Now, the Particle Whip is fired from any of the corner guns you want.
I think it's actually because in Dawn of War (the video game) the particle whip blast originates in the crystal. The animation kind of sticks in your head and you imagine it coming from there =)