WBB query - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15

Thread: WBB query

  1. #1
    Member fatal_cake's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    111
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    7 (x1)

    WBB query

    My friend and I are relatively new to the game, so we're working out the kinks in our game knowledge, and something that has continuously eluded my grasp has been the WBB rules. For the most part I've got them worked out, but something that came up was the rolling for WBB itself. I've normally been totaling up the eligible units and then rolling them all at once, using the successes for my Necron Lord and then the units that are being the most helpful, like my Flayed Ones; my friend contends that there should be more separate rolls, especially (and understandably) when concerning the Phylactery. Do I need to be rolling separate rolls for my Necron Lord and each eligible unit, or am I fine rolling them at once and picking through? The Codex was foggy about this IMHO...

    Any help would be awesome, thankies.

    -- dan


  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    King of Librarium's Tombs Phoenix's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Lancaster / Warwick, UK
    Age
    28
    Posts
    7,143
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    579 (x8)

    You need to roll for individual units, so 1D6 for the Lord, X for X warriors, Y for Y destroyers etc, and apply the results independently.

  4. #3
    You Can't Kill the Metal Stabby_McGee's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Denver, CO
    Posts
    264
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    222 (x3)

    Yes. Roll for the Lord and the group it's attached to seperately since the Lord is an independent character.
    Necrons ~4500pts / Orks ~2000pts / Thousand Sons ~750pts

    HOW TO LIGHT A MONOLITH

  5. #4
    Member fatal_cake's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    111
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    7 (x1)

    Alright, that sounds more correct than my earlier approach, and was what I was leaning more towards after the last fight with his Orks. Thank you kindly for the clarification, it was a big help.

    -- dan

  6. #5
    Senior Member Dark Trainer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Age
    38
    Posts
    1,877
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    102 (x5)

    Also not just X for X warriors, it's X1 for X1 warriors, then roll X2 for X2 warriors. You roll for each squad individually, and same for the lord since he's an independant character.

    If it was the way you explained, we'd never lose!!! That would be funny...
    "There is only do, or do not. There is no try." - Yoda

  7. #6
    Member fatal_cake's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    111
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    7 (x1)

    @Dark Trainer

    Lol, indeed... it does make WBB a bit too strong. But the Codex was vague on that point and so I used my n00b powers to break the game... my Ork friend will be happy though.

  8. #7
    Member MethodicalMeat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Age
    27
    Posts
    235
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    106 (x2)

    You're darn right I will!

  9. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    472
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputation
    53 (x1)

    Quote Originally Posted by fatal_cake View Post
    @Dark Trainer

    Lol, indeed... it does make WBB a bit too strong. But the Codex was vague on that point and so I used my n00b powers to break the game... my Ork friend will be happy though.
    the way I read it it looks like the codex makes you roll for each individual model, pick a necron check to see if he is within 6" and roll the die...
    Dear Game Designer,
    Rock is Cheese. Paper is fine.
    Signed,
    Scissors

  10. #9
    No Life King Alzer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Wisconsin/Minnesota, USA
    Age
    29
    Posts
    2,819
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    324 (x8)

    The 6" rules are for units, not individual models.so you can roll for the unit as a whole otherwise the res-or would be nearly useless.

  11. #10
    Senior Member Dark Trainer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Age
    38
    Posts
    1,877
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    102 (x5)

    By the way, this is a discussion long discussed since everyone believes to some extend WBB is very vague in situations. Even the FAQ leaves some things to assumption (like low AP weaponry doesn't negate WBB, double Strength does, but not just AP alone. So your Lord does get WBB against a las cannon S9 for example).

    Oh and I broke the rules plenty of times (still did last game!) I mis used my monolith and fired both the gauss flux arc and particle whip...I was overjoyed with my monolith, until I learned I cheated! LOL!
    "There is only do, or do not. There is no try." - Yoda

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts