Welcome to Librarium Online!
Something that recently came up amongst my self and an ork player. If a unit of warriors flees from combat but is still too close to an ork unit to rally, can they be warped through the Monolith? Would this rally them or would they continue to run after disenbarking from the monolith? We can't find anything refering to this in the rule book or an FAQ.
You can warp them to the Monolith but they'll continue to fall back. It's just like having them run on an invisible treadmill. No real point to it though... unless you want to use it to distract your enemy.
Welcome to LO!
Necrons ~4500pts / Orks ~2000pts / Thousand Sons ~750pts
HOW TO LIGHT A MONOLITH
You could warp them. However, the above post is right that there would be a treadmill effect, UNLESS they are above 50% original unit size. In that case they could reform as normal.
Ruthlessness is the mercy of the wise.
That all depends on order of events. Would teleporting go before or after the regroup? If it's before, then I'd say yes, they could regroup (of course, unless they're under 50%!)
Well in a very specific instance it could be very handy like if say a unit of warriors got blown to pieces and no other necrons were within 6" but the monolith was there and you had a unit below 50% while falling back then you warped the falling back unit there to try and get a unit above 50% maybe? Or... just to screw with your opponent and give him a distraction. but that didn't answer the question you asked so let me edit this post. I think that as long as the unit is above 50% and is 6" away from any enemy units they will rally at the beginning of your turn.
Last edited by Whitefang; September 16th, 2008 at 01:30.
Guys, think about this for a minute.
The monolith is counted as a transport. Units may not embark on a transport if they are falling back. NOW, with us necrons, we break that rule. we can do it. but in turn, because they are disembarking, they are considered REGROUPED AUTOMATICALLY. you cant have a squad of guardsmen get out of a chimera and they just instafail their lead. therefore, any unit embarked on a transport is regrouped.
Hesitant as I am to say it I actually agree with KizzyPop on this one
Due to the nature of the removal of the Necrons from the field, "phased out" means to me that they are removed from play, and placed back in play devoid of any negative affects other than "broken."
This of course would only work if they can be phased out to the Monolith in the first place. I think it's a coin-toss scenario or something to at least discuss with your opponent first while in game. Hard to say if the embarkation rules come into effect or not, as they are never discussed in regards to the monolith (I mean..heck the thing can teleport them out of close combat, it should be able to teleport them out of being chickens!)
Not sure about the whole connection to Chimeras...there are no leadership effects that can hit the guardsmen before they disembark, so of course that never really comes into effect.
There I go with a big long post and look at the last date only to realize it's a zombie all along...
For the record, it is preferred that replies are not made to threads over a month in age unless highly relevant to the topic at hand (I.e. being the original poster).
*Adds shiny new slugs to zombie*