Welcome to Librarium Online!
This came up during a casual game today.
Eldar Jetbikes get a 6" move in the Assault Phase (p.53). However it doesn't state WHICH assault phase this is done in. Is it in both? or Only the controlling players turn.
Has anyone else had a similar argument?
Most of us said it's pretty cheesy, as it should prevent most infantry units from assaulting them the whole game. I agreed, but I wasn't playing so they just 4+'d it.
I dunno, it seems very unfair to want such a movement, but you are right the rules dont spell out whos assualt phase you can do it in.
All ill add is on page 9, about the turn sequence, it says only the player whos turn it is can move into an assualt. So this would mean you cant assualt with the bikes in the other players turn.
But as for just moving them?
In the rules for jetbikes it says that all jetbikes are treated like normal bikes in the assualt phase. Id treat the 6" movement as an assualt move even if it doesnt need to reach an opponents unit. Seeing as they are treated the same as normal bikes in regards to assualt phase, they could only do this in their own turn.
"Playing it safe is the most popular way to fail." - Elliott Smith.
Space Wolves (Under Construction) | Circle of Orboros (Under Construction)
Yea i think it's a pretty definitive response here. Though the actual wording of the rule leaves itself a bit undefined, i think it is implied it is the jetbike owners assault phase it refers to. For one it goes on to say in the same sentence "even if they don't assault." Essentially stating that this is the assault phase of the jetbike controller. Finally, remember that the game is meant to be a friendly competition and that if that were such a rule it would definately make things frustrating and thus 'un-fun' for players.
Thanks for the opinions!
I appreciate the input, as I felt it is pretty cheesy (why I just told them to roll 4+ for it, hate 40k rules arguments). I hope this gets addressed in the 5th edition FAQ (not out yet) or in the Eldar/DE FAQ.