Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I saw an orca transport for sale and i own a tau army.
Does someone have experience with transport ships in games?
How tactically valid can this thing be?
i know what stats it has and what capacity, but i have no experience with flyers ingame. In apocalypse games, is this thing worth his money and points or is it more of a showthing then usefull?
I think it's made mainly for the coolness of the detail both inside and outside, the rules are pretty good cosidering that it actually has guns on it! The flying rules are really good in 4th Ed. But, I don't know about it's performance with the rules changes. Just by looking at the rules I originally thought that it was dumbed down with the recent changes. Maybe it's just me getting cheesed off with the Skimmer rules changes
For it's price, I think personally, it won't pay for itself in games. I dunno, I find that all superheavy transports don't have any use when the bullets start flying. Basically, from the word "go", all your opponent's heavy weapons will be pointed at it.
Don't take this the wrong way mate, IMO I find no use for it on the field.
Think about it, for the price your paying for the Orca, you could get two Tigersharks for £25 cheaper!
I'd proxy the thing against a good friend and see it's performance for yourself before you start buying the thing. The last thing that you want to do is spend a crapola of your money, only for you to say "Man, that was crap".
All in all, it's your choice
I would second that bit of advice about proxying the model. It's too expensive to find out the hard way that it's "not quite what I was expecting/wanted".
AX-1-0 x2 on the other hand.....
"Tau Commandment #226: Participants who use Velocity Trackers in the Tau Clay Pigeon Tournament will be disqualified"
reroll to wound? what did i miss in the rulebook?
I think he's referring to the heavy rail cannons found on tigershark ax-10 and mantas, (correct me if im wrong, not totally sure )
Why did the chicken cross the road?
For the greater good.
In 5th Ed. it's states that, if a template or blast weapon is twin-linked, you get to re-roll those failures, same goes for vehicle damage
the Heavy Railgun-toting Tigershark happens to be one of those happy few