Monsterus critters and tank shock - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Member Maleficorum's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    BC Canada
    Age
    29
    Posts
    39
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    1 (x1)

    Monsterus critters and tank shock

    Hit abit of a Grey area other day while playing a game vs a space marine friend of mine.

    He tank shocked a carnie and it stood there and faught, the carnie destroyed a weapon on the tank shocking rhino and then we were unsure if it just got squashed like a normal unit or not?!? we ended up rolling for it rather than dewelling and he won so it sqwished but anyways does anyone know what happens when a monsterus creature fails to "stop" a tank shocking vehicle?!?!

    Hive fleet Xiranos
    W/D/L
    11/2/0
    Legion of the Maleficorum
    21/3/5

  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    260
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    22 (x1)

    Quote Originally Posted by Maleficorum View Post
    Hit abit of a Grey area other day while playing a game vs a space marine friend of mine.

    He tank shocked a carnie and it stood there and faught, the carnie destroyed a weapon on the tank shocking rhino and then we were unsure if it just got squashed like a normal unit or not?!? we ended up rolling for it rather than dewelling and he won so it sqwished but anyways does anyone know what happens when a monsterus creature fails to "stop" a tank shocking vehicle?!?!
    The rules are quite clear (Rule book page 69). The tank has a weapon destroyed as result of shocking the Carnifex, and the Carnifex is crushed by the vehicle and removed from the table.

  4. #3
    Member eve-bishop's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Age
    34
    Posts
    87
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    1 (x1)

    Oh wow that is so broken! That's so silly, a tank rams into something larger then itself and it insta-squishes the monstrous creature! I don't think the synapse immunity to insta-kills would save you against tank shock (it does not say it insta-kills the creature so I guess not) but wow....

    Quick hide this from all the marines out there!
    "Ohm nom nom nom"

  5. #4
    Mau'Dib
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    VA, USA
    Posts
    499
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputation
    53 (x1)

    However the carni gets to step out of the way automatically, so really it's not a big deal. Just don't death or glory your fexes, it's better to wait the turn then assault the sucker who just drove past you.
    ~2k of genestealery goodness
    ~1750points of terminator goodness

    Dovie'andi se tovya sagain

    more witty remarks to come.

  6. #5
    Sadomachiatto Karmoon's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Frankfurt, Germany
    Posts
    7,076
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    ReputationReputation
    790 (x8)

    Quote Originally Posted by Maleficorum View Post
    Hit abit of a Grey area other day while playing a game vs a space marine friend of mine.

    He tank shocked a carnie and it stood there and faught, the carnie destroyed a weapon on the tank shocking rhino and then we were unsure if it just got squashed like a normal unit or not?!? we ended up rolling for it rather than dewelling and he won so it sqwished but anyways does anyone know what happens when a monsterus creature fails to "stop" a tank shocking vehicle?!?!
    Hi Maleficorum,

    Just a quick note to say please watch out for poor spelling.
    It is a requirement on LO to use proper spelling and grammar and so forth.

    Cheers.


    On topic - remember, death or glory is a gamble. It's meant for a tiny little runt to gamble his life infront of a might Land Raider or something.

    Using Death or Glory with a carnifex who poses a serious threat to all vehicles naturally, probably isn't a good idea.

    For this reason, I don't think the squished Carnifex is cheesy or broken at all. It's the player who put the carnifex at such unnecessary risk

    Karmoon
    LO Rules

    Quote Originally Posted by Anonymous
    Anyone who's as loyal and motivated to doing what they love as you are is respectable in my book
    Quote Originally Posted by Cyric
    I'm taking leave of my senses and shall be out of my mind until further notice.

  7. #6
    Member ajay29's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Age
    31
    Posts
    249
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    21 (x1)

    Quote Originally Posted by paul_Harkonen View Post
    However the carni gets to step out of the way automatically, so really it's not a big deal. Just don't death or glory your fexes, it's better to wait the turn then assault the sucker who just drove past you.

    Agreed, plus don't forget a Death or Glory is always against the front armour of a vehicle, whereas if you assault it after it drives past you it is always against rear armour....

    Another reason not to Death or Glory with your Fex!
    Herald of the Colonel; Festooned with pistols, riddled with vermin, and finger lickin' good...

  8. #7
    Member OgreBane99's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Orange County, CA
    Age
    35
    Posts
    35
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    1 (x1)

    Quote Originally Posted by ajay29 View Post
    Agreed, plus don't forget a Death or Glory is always against the front armour of a vehicle, whereas if you assault it after it drives past you it is always against rear armour....

    Another reason not to Death or Glory with your Fex!
    Wait... could you decide to use your DoG attack as a melee attack? Or does it have to be a shooty attack? because if you get a chance to do a melee swing at it, that could be a big difference.
    "Beware the fury of a patient man." - John Dryden
    Current Armies (W/D/L)
    Hive Fleet Terminus: 10-1-1
    Ultramarines: 0-0-1
    Raven Guard: 0-0-0

  9. #8
    Member DarkPhoenix's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Mississauga/GTA - PM and lets set up a game!
    Posts
    173
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    31 (x1)

    Quote Originally Posted by OgreBane99 View Post
    Wait... could you decide to use your DoG attack as a melee attack? Or does it have to be a shooty attack? because if you get a chance to do a melee swing at it, that could be a big difference.
    Pg 69 "...the attack can be either a shot from a weapon carried by the model, or a single close combat attack using any weapon carried, including grenades..."

    But it still means the fex is insta-killed if it fails to stop the tank.
    Dark Angels WIP (completed) | more pics
    Guess this explains why I like my Dark Eldar so much...

  10. #9
    Member OgreBane99's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Orange County, CA
    Age
    35
    Posts
    35
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    1 (x1)

    Quote Originally Posted by DarkPhoenix View Post
    Pg 69 "...the attack can be either a shot from a weapon carried by the model, or a single close combat attack using any weapon carried, including grenades..."

    But it still means the fex is insta-killed if it fails to stop the tank.
    True... but it'd pretty much always be a penetrate, unless it was a landraider or something. So there is a decent chance to stop it, but I agree, why not move if there's no penalty to getting out of the way? Unless maybe it's meant to get the 'fex out of cover and in a clear line of fire....
    "Beware the fury of a patient man." - John Dryden
    Current Armies (W/D/L)
    Hive Fleet Terminus: 10-1-1
    Ultramarines: 0-0-1
    Raven Guard: 0-0-0

+ Reply to Thread

LinkBacks (?)

  1. September 25th, 2008, 15:13

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts