Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Hey up, I have a question about the Wave Serpents (again). This time I was wondering about what exactly can go in them. Most entries inthe codex say that a squad of 12 or less models can fit into it, but some units do nothave this. Does that mean that they can not start the game inside a Wave Serpent?
Also, can anyone clarify if it is possible to have a Wave Serpent (with Banshees for example) drive off, deploy its contents when possible, then drive back and pick someone else up and do the same?
I guess where the confusion is coming from is that they're called "dedicated" transports which to me makes it sound like it could only take whoever came with it.
dedicated transports are now not as strict as they used to be. They can carry any infantry units but not jump infantry. Special characters have to join a squad to hop into a transport but otherwise are fine. You may only purchase dedicated transports for squads that say they may purchase dedicated transports and these must be deployed at the same time. Once on the table the transport may take any unit that meets the requirements to all fit inside.
Never apologise for asking questions young seers, through asking
questions we find answers, and through those answers we gain
knowledge of ourselves and the universe around us
Meet My Autarch
That's great news. I might try to come up with some strategies using this info. Before, I would have my WS drive up, drop off its unit and then just kind of drive about taking potshots. More often than not this would just result in the Serpent being shot at by whatever had the longest range. People like to shoot transports it seems.
Skimmers can pivot on the spot right? Just wondering if they do so I can at least turn my WS around as it drives off to pick up more men. Last thing I need is a Rokkit or Railgun shooting me inthe rear.
No, you can't take two different units at the same time.
Its a dedicated transport so the rulebook lays it out explicitly.
Some interesting things to note...since dedicated transports can flank with scouts/infiltrators you can have one pop out the side after a couple rounds with striking scorpions.
Also, the potential damage of a ramming waveserpent with extra boosters is cool. Definitely a good option if you have one that's otherwise crippled and you have a big target handy!
"Orcs are what happens when Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles grow old and bitter."
Transports with Inilftrators flanking?
Yes, it is perfectly acceptable to have scorpions outflank.
If the fluff idea of that bothers you think of it as using our speed to rocket into position off the table edge once the game has started.
Everything I have told you, even this, is a lie.
I'v been thinking of trying this for a while, take a wave serpent with shuri cannons and stones drop the scorpions off when they come on the board and ram the nearest tank on side armor. you still infiltrate your scorpions and you have a decent chance of taking a enemy vehicle out of the game pretty early allowing your scorpians to charge in with out having to worry about a troublesome tank.
"stupid overtime zombie virus."
"I'm glad that worked. Those would have been horrible last words."